Next Level Geometric Embossing Folder Decor Piece

30 days of evolution

Happy Friday! Samantha here to share an Evolution Advanced project with you. Today I’m using one of the embossing folders from the Next Level Geometric Embossing Folder set to create a home décor piece.

We R Memory Keepers Next Level Embossing Folders, Geometric Set used on a home decor piece by designer Samantha Taylor. #wermemorykeepers #nextlevelembossingfolders

Usually, I use embossing folders with solid colored card stock, but embossing folders can add some really stunning texture to patterned or painted paper too. I decided to pair the Geometric Embossing Folder with some paper that I water colored with paints.

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 2

I’m not the best at water coloring, I pretty much just paint, add water, and flick paint at the paper until I have something that looks interesting enough. I was going to need a piece of paper that is 6” x 6”, but I painted a 7” x 7” piece of paper so I could trim down the paper to pick the section I liked best. Make sure your paper is completely dry before trimming it down and running it through your Evolution. This will give you the cleanest embossed lines without the risk of tearing your paper.

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 3

I absolutely love the amount of dimension you get from the Next level folders. Pictures just don’t do them justice!

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 4

I wanted to add a little more to this embossed pattern. If you look closely at the photos above, you can see a horizontal line running through the embossed diamonds. I wanted that line to run both vertically and horizontally through the diamond. After running it through once, I rotated the paper 90 degrees and lined up the diamonds so they were in the same place. If you look closely at the photo below, you can see that the center lines on the embossing folder run horizontally while the ones on the paper are running vertically.

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 5

After running the paper through a second time, you have a pattern that looks like the photo below, where the lines through the diamonds run both vertically and horizontally.

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 6

I used my home printer to add, “Happiness comes from a grateful heart” on a sheet of 7”x 9” white cardstock. Then I cut a 5 ½” heart out from the paper and layered up some gold paper and my embossed piece of cardstock inside of the heart. I matted the whole thing with a piece 8” x 10” Wildflower Road Trip paper that I overlaid with Clearly Posh Confetti Gold Dot paper.

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 7

All of this was put in a decorative frame, so I can hang it on my living room wall. It’s a fun piece of home décor, and the embossed heart really adds some great texture to the piece. Have you tried the Next Level embossing folders yet? Do you usually use them on solid colored card stock, or do you like to use them on patterned or painted paper? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

Next Level Geometric Emossing Folder by Samantha Taylor 8

 

Supplies

Evolution Advanced
Next Level Geometric Embossing Folders
Wildflower Road Trip
Clearly Posh Confetti Gold Dot
Clearly Posh Ephemera Bits
Bazzill Gold Card Stock
American Crafts White Card Stock
Water Color Paints

15 thoughts on “Next Level Geometric Embossing Folder Decor Piece

  1. These embossing folders are AMAZING!! I bought a set thinking that they were hyped up and wouldn’t meet my expectations! Little did I know, they ARE even better than I heard!! You really need to see it in person to get the full impact of them!! I really hope that they continue making more of them! They are like Lay’s potato chips, you can’t stop at one!! LOL
    Love this awesome home décor piece and thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thanks for taking the time to let us know you like the Next Level embossing folders. I feel the exact same way you do about them! Thought I’d “seen it all” with embossing folders, but these are definitely something new and special!

  2. These look like fun paints where can I find them! and I love what you did with the embossing folder. I only have a cricut machine but I love everything you can do with die cuts and embossing folders so it is on my wish list to get one of yours!

    • Thanks, Sue! You will love the amazing dimension you get from the Next Level Embossing Folders. Their impressions are incredible!

  3. I have been a quilter for over 25 years. I love that this has a quilt look to it! Samantha along with all of your designers come up with such great techniques and ideas for my WRMK products beyond cards and scrapbooking. That is why I love WRMK and your products!

Leave a Reply

