Easy Letterpress Tags

30 days of evolution

Hello, We R fans! Jen McDermott here, sharing some fun tags I created using our Letterpress system. There’s no need to be intimidated by letterpressing; WeR makes it super easy to create trendy, top notch pressed goodies, using the Evolution Advanced, and a special folding platform.  For today’s projects, I made a variety of gift tags using a few different letterpressing techniques.

First, I created a very basic tag to get warmed up. I used one of the larger, background plates that are usually good for big areas.

Using a small piece of double-stick tape that comes in the letterpress kit, I stuck the plate onto the flippy side of the letterpress platform. Designer tip: you can use the same piece of tape for several different plates. Just leave it on the platform and reuse it until it’s no longer sticky.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott1

Then,  I squeezed out a SMALL amount of letterpress ink. This ink is thick and sticky, so a little goes a LONG way.  Make sure to roll your brayer around in the ink in several different directions, so you are left with a thin layer of ink on your brayer; no lumps.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott2

Then I rolled the ink onto the plate, using light strokes, and going over the plate till I was satisfied that all of the butterflies were covered with ink.  Then I aligned my paper in on the platform, folded it shut, and rolled it through the Evolution Advanced!

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott3

What came out was a super cute, pressed butterfly square, that would look GREAT layered under a smaller, simpler tag.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott4

You can also run your tags through the letterpress platform more than once, if you want to add a second color to your paper. I had this thank you tag already pressed in silver, but ran it through the Evolution again,  this time adding a Hot Pink heart.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott10

I used my Crop-a-Dile to punch the hole in the paper, and voila! A two-step tag.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott11

Next, I went the clean and simple route by making a couple of tags using no ink; just the plain letterpress plate.

I used the same process as the previous tag, I just didn’t use any ink.  I was left with a couple of very chic, clean white tags that are good for dressing up cute, storebought gift bags.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott5


Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott6

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott7


Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott8

I used my 1, 2, 3 Punch to make a gift bag using paper from the Wildflowers collection. I jazzed it up with a doily and some ribbon, and attached a tag I letterpressed then shaped into a banner.

Letterpress Tags by Jen McDermott9

I hope you have been inspired by all of the fun ways you can dress up your gift tags easily, by using your letterpress platform! I can’t wait to make bulk tags for Christmas gifts!  What do you use your letterpress platform for? Share with us on our Facebook page!



Evolution Advanced
Letterpress Kit
Letterpress plates–Clearly Posh, Wildflower
Letterpress squares, circles, A2 cards

5 thoughts on “Easy Letterpress Tags

Leave a Reply

