Wildflower Embroidery Hoop

Hello, Samantha joining you today. I love creating home décor pieces with pretty paper, because it gets the paper out of my scrapbooks and up on my wall. Today, I have an embroidery hoop welcome sign created with Wildflower that helps me get some of that gorgeous paper out where I can see it more often!

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor featuring the We R Memory Keepers Wildflower collection.

I started with a 10” wood embroidery hoop that I whitewashed with a little white paint. Painting it made it pop a little more against the dark paper I chose and my front door.

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor 2

Then, I filled the hoop with a piece of Wildflower Sketchbook. I chose this piece for the dark background and bold all over pattern. To fit paper into the embroidery hoop, just cut the paper in a circle about ½ inch larger than the hoop itself. Then, if you want to save yourself a little struggling, recruit someone to lend you an extra pair of hands to get all tucked into the hoop.

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor 3

Next, I created my little mini banners using the Banner Punch Board. Did you know that you can create little banners with the banner punch board, too? It’s just as easy as doing large ones! To create my small banners, I cut my strip of Wildflower Travel Journal paper to the width I wanted, but left my paper one long strip.

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor 4

 

After cutting the banner end with the punch board, I put the long strip in my paper trimmer and cut the banner to the proper length. Then, that same strip of Wildflower Travel Journal paper can go right back in the Banner Punch Board for the next banner piece.

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor 5

 

 

To give the welcome sign some dimension, I attached the welcome banner to the sign with Sticky Thumb Foam Dimensional Adhesive.

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor 6

Finally, I added some flower and butterfly embellishments from the Wildflower Die Cut Shapes and the Wildflower Cardstock Stickers.

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor 7

This is the first time that I’ve used an embroidery hoop to frame a home décor piece, but I’m certain it won’t be the last! What’s your favorite way to put pretty papers and embellishments on display at your house?

Embroidery Hoop Welcome Sign by Samantha Taylor featuring the We R Memory Keepers Wildflower collection.

 

Supplies

Banner Punch Board
Trim & Score Board
Wildflower Sketchbook Paper
Wildflower Travel Journal Paper
Wildflower Ephemera Bits
Wildflower Thickers
Wildflowers Cardstock Stickers
Sew Easy Bakers Twine Aqua
Sticky Thumb Foam Dimensional Adhesive
Imaginisce White Milk Paint
Embroidery Hoop

7 thoughts on “Wildflower Embroidery Hoop

  1. Pingback: Inspired by Embroidery Hoops | We R Memory Keepers Blog

  2. I love your project! I have such pretty papers and to put them in hoops is a fabulous decorating idea! The little banners are perfect!

  3. Wow! This is gorgeous! I haven’t seen this frame style in a long time!

    I love the tip about making the mini banners by keeping the paper strip long and cutting it to length after making the notch cut. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

