First Day of School Layout

Hello, Samantha on the blog today. My kids went back to school at the end of August, so I have lots of first day photos to scrap. For today’s post, I thought I’d create a First Day Layout using the Banner Punch Board and Wildflower paper.

First Day of School layout by designer Samantha Taylor featuring the We R Memory Keepers Wildflower collection and Banner Punch Board. #wermemorykeepers #bannerpunchboard

Wildflower might not be the first paper collection you think of for a back to school layout (especially one for boys), but I’ve been surprised to find how versatile this collection is and how easy it is to use for any occasion. I decided to create a background from banner pieces created with the Banner Punch Board. I wanted the banners to be 4” wide. You can see in the photo below, that a 4” wide banner will be 5 ½ “ long. I created 12 banners with the Banner Punch Board and fit them together like (very simple) puzzle pieces to create the background.

First Day Layout Using the Banner Punch Board By Samantha Taylor 2

A background built from so many different pieces of patterned paper can be a bit busy, so to keep the focus on the photo I clustered all of my embellishments and did all of my detail work directly around the photo. I started by adding some silver foil accents with the Heat Wave Pen. I used the Heat Wave Sans Serif Stencil to add the school year, and I used a ruler to create a silver outline around the piece of patterned paper layered under my photo.

First Day Layout Using the Banner Punch Board By Samantha Taylor 3

I like to keep everything in place when I’m using the Heat Wave by adding a little washi tape to 1 or 2 of the edges of my foil and paper.

First Day Layout Using the Banner Punch Board By Samantha Taylor 4

I created a cluster of tags and ephemera from the Wildflower Tags, the new DIY Party Tag Punch, and some Clearly Posh embellishments.

First Day Layout Using the Banner Punch Board By Samantha Taylor 5

See through embellishments can be tricky to adhere to your page without the adhesive showing. I’ve had great success using Sticky Thumb Multi Purpose Liquid Glue. I just pipe a thin layer on behind any printing on the clear embellishment. Here, I just piped on lines of glue behind the silver lines on the heart.

First Day Layout Using the Banner Punch Board By Samantha Taylor 6

I had so much fun creating this back to school first day layout using the banner punch board and a few other We R Memory Keepers tools. Using Wildflower definitely added a non-traditional twist! Have you ever used the banner punch board to create a background for a layout or a card? I’d love to hear about what you’ve created with it!

 

 

Supplies

Banner Punch Board
Wildflower Stargazing
Wildflower Indigo
Wildflower Botanical
Wildflower Paper Ledger
Wildflower Flea Market
Wildflower Cardstock Stickers
Wildflower Tags
Heat Wave Pen
Heat Wave Stencil Sans Serif
Heat Wave Foil Silver
Precision Glass Cutting Mat
Clearly Posh Ephemera Bits
Clearly Posh Enamel Dots
Silver and Gold Alpha Blocks
American Crafts Shimelle Slick Writer
Sticky Thumb Multi Purpose Liquid Glue

9 thoughts on “First Day of School Layout

  1. Pingback: Banner Punch Board Scrapbook Page | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

