Using FUSEables to Make a Cinch Album

Happy Monday We R friends, and welcome to Mini Week here on the blog! This week you’ll enjoy inspiration for mini albums of all kinds, themes, sizes, and styles. We’ll show you how to make your own minis, and how to deck out our popular ready made ones. Get ready for some fabulous projects!

Hello, it’s Samantha, and I’m so excited to be sharing my project today. You see, some of my very favorite things to make are mini albums, and today I’m using the new FUSEables to make a Cinch album. Every fall I take my boys out and capture some annual photos of how much they’ve grown and changed, and a mini album is the perfect way to document those photos.

FUSEables Cinch Albums by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

I used a few basic supplies for this album. The Cinch, the Photo Sleeve Fuse, the DIY Party Confetti Punch, a Fuesable Card Kit, and some American Crafts Sticky Thumb adhesive. I used the Jen Hadfield Home + Made Embellished Cards and Envelopes pack, but depending on the theme you’re going for any of the Fuesable Card kits will work.

Using Fuesables to Make a Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor 2

Using the card bases from a card kit saves time by having paper that’s already cut and scored, and a little further down this post I’ll show you how to easily turn the card bases into shaker pages and pocket pages. You also get a selection of matching embellishments and die cuts as part of the kit to use on your album.

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

To turn the cards into pages, I ran the Photo Sleeve Fuse around all edges to seal the cards shut (and because it adds a fun decorative edging). On the edge that I wanted to bind with the Cinch, I used the Fuse to fuse an additional line ½” into the page. This creates a nice visual edge, and the binding will fit into that ½” space.

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

You can see in the photo above, that I placed some of my pages vertically, and some horizontally. To Cinch the horizontal pages, you just follow the standard directions (do note, however, that the pages are 4 ¼”, but I used the directions for a 4” edge).

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

To Cinch the vertical pages, which are 5 ½” tall, I pulled the same peg that I would for the 4” side (which is peg #8) and all of the pegs after (9, 10, 11, and 12). Because your paper is longer than the area you will actually be adding binding to, it’s very important to pull all the pegs after #8 as well, not just peg #8. The Chinch has a slide ruler edge on it for when you are doing extra-long pages, but I utilized it in this situation, too. I moved the ruler edge out 5/8”, which then put the holes directly in the center of the long page (remember, we’re not punching the entire 5 ½” edge of the tall pages, just the same 4 ¼” that we did on the short pages). The picture above shows exactly which pegs I pulled and how I lined up the ruler.

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

Then you’ll punch holes just like normal with your Cinch. These holes will now be centered on your tall page, and line up perfectly with your short pages.

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

When you use a Fuesables card kit to create your pages, it makes creating pocket pages from the shaker cards super easy.

FUSEables card base shaker pocket by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

Start by placing the shaker card unfolded with the wrong side (white side) facing you. Then add your shaker element (there are directions right inside in the kit for doing this). The kit includes sequins to put in the shaker, but I used the DIY Party Confetti Punch instead of the sequins for some of my shaker pages. Next, fold the left side over, and use your Photo Fuse to seal the top and bottom of the page. Finally fold the right side over, and seal 3 edges with the Photo Fuse, leaving one edge unsealed (here I left the top edge unsealed) to create a pocket.

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

You can see that this pocket technique works for both vertical and horizontal pages.

Using Fuesables to Make a Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor 10

Don’t forget to take full advantage of using Fuseable paper when adding details and embellishments to your mini album. You can create a pretty faux stitching effect over papers with just your Fuse, and since you’re using your Fuse tool to fuse your papers and embellishments together, you don’t need to use adhesive! The only place I used adhesive in this album was to attach my photos. I found that the Sticky Thumb adhesive dots work really well with the Fuesable plastic paper.

FUSEables Cinch Album by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers #FUSEables #thecinch

I love when I can combine a couple of my favorite tools when I’m creating. The Photo Fuse and Cinch complement each other so well in the creation of this fall mini album. I’d love to hear (or see!) your ideas for using the Cinch and Photo Fuse together!

 

Supplies

Cinch
Photo Sleeve Fuse
DIY Party Confetti Punch
Fuse Mat
Fuesables Jen Hadfield Home + Made Embellished Cards & Envelopes
Fuesables Die Cut Plastic Shapes
Fuesables Carousel Plastic Paper
Fuesables Entertain Plastic Paper
Fuesables Kraft Fringe Strip
Fuesables Yellow Fringe Strip
Fuesables Mint Ruffle Strip
Sticky Thumb adhesive dots
American Crafts Dear Lizzy Thicker Stickers Yoyo White

13 thoughts on “Using FUSEables to Make a Cinch Album

  1. Pingback: Seven Fuse Project Ideas | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

