DIY Holiday Gift Packaging

Today we’re happy to have guest designer Juliana Michaels with us to share what she created with the Template Studio Starter Kit. Get to know Juliana, visit her social media accounts, and the scroll down to check out her beautiful holiday projects!

Blog  |  Facebook  | Instagram  |  YouTube

Hi, I’m Juliana Michaels and I grew up in a creative household loving art, design, and making things with my hands. I give all the credit to my creative mother who loved to paint, sew and draw. My mother also photographed my daily life and kept all of these photos stored and displayed in photo albums. Nearly 15 years ago I found my true passion in paper crafting and scrapbooking thanks to the combination of being exposed to these creative activities and photographic documentation of my daily life. Since 2008 I have been creating and sharing paper crafting projects on my blog – 17turtles.

I’ve been a project designer in the paper craft/scrapbook industry since 2007, and I have been fortunate to work for many top manufacturers. My projects have been published in a variety of magazines and idea books, and I have had projects displayed at the Craft and Hobby Association Trade Show.

I’m married to Danny, my best friend and the love of my life. I am also mom to a Golden Retriever named Lincoln and an American Paint Horse named Woody. I have a fondness for coffee, Mexican food, turtles and antiquing. In my spare time I enjoy running, working out, cooking, and reading science and historical fiction.

My favorite We R product has to be my Magnetic Cutting Mat and Ruler. It is always on my desk and I use it for nearly every project I make.

DIY Holiday Gift Packaging

Hi everyone! This is Juliana Michaels and I’m excited to be here with you today to share a pair of Christmas gift bags and a gift card envelope that I created using the new Template Studio from We R Memory Keepers.


I used the new Holiday Designer Poster Board to create them. I tend to prefer a more traditional color scheme when it comes to my Christmas gift wrap, so I immediately fell in love with the red and white striped poster board and its gorgeous foil accents!



The large gift bag that I created is the 10 x 5 x 10 gift bag size. With the leftovers from creating the large bag, I was able to create the smaller gift bag and envelope. The smaller bag is the 5.5 x 4 x 8.5 gift bag size. To dress up each gift bag I added gold trim to the top edge of each bag. I then added gold ribbon handles. On the small gift bag, I added some gold foil letters to add a little more interest.


For the final touch on each gift bag, I added die cut holly leaves and berries that I cut from cardstock using my electronic cutting machine.


To decorate the envelope, I tied a piece of gold ribbon around it and added a bit of the gold trim as well.


The Template Studio and Holiday Designer Poster Board makes it easy to create, customize and coordinate all of your Christmas gift wrap!


Template Studio Starter Kit
Holiday Designer Poster Board


3 thoughts on “DIY Holiday Gift Packaging

  1. What are the dimensions of the things I can make with the template studio compared to the small punch boards? Do any sizes overlap or are they different?

Leave a Reply

