DIY Keepsake Storage Binder

Hello, Samantha here with you today. The Template Studio is so much fun, I hope you’ve been enjoying the great ideas you’ve seen so far this week. I love being able to create big projects with it! Today I’m sharing a special file folder keepsake holder I created with the Template Studio and File Folder Guide Template.

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 1

I wanted a place to keep those special letters, pictures, and handmade gifts from my kids. They’ve been sitting in a steadily growing pile on my dresser for years, because I just didn’t know where to put them. I realized that with the Template Studio, I could make some large file folders, and then bind them together to create a fun and functional keepsake holder.

 

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 2

I decided to make each folder a different color, so I grabbed poster board­­ in green, navy, and yellow. I followed the instructions to make 11”x14” file folders using the Template Studio. I have a folder for each kid, plus one for my husband (I don’t think he even realizes it, but he leaves me notes and brings me trinkets when he travels, and some of them I just can’t bring myself to get rid of).

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 3

I wanted to label each of my folders with the person’s name. I needed to use something that was durable, so I decided to use the HeatWave Pen. I used some washi tape to hold the foil down around the tab of the file folder so that I could see the shape of the tab while labeling it.

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 4

Honestly, I have really messy handwriting, but even I can free hand write with the HeatWave. When you’re writing in foil, suddenly you’re handwriting looks so much better. I would encourage you to try out free hand writing with the HeatWave even if you don’t like your handwriting, you’ll be amazed at the results!

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 5

I wanted some pockets inside of my file folders to hold smaller papers and projects. I just cut leftover designer poster board to a size that seemed about right, and attached them inside with some Sticky Thumb Double Sided Super Sticky Red Tape.

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 6

Finally, I wanted to keep all of the folders together by binding them with the Cinch. I thought I’d try for a little different look by binding the folders at the top, center, and bottom only. You can see in the photo below how I lined up the holes. I started by pulling all of the pegs on the Cinch, except for the first 5 pegs (so it would only punch 5 holes). I punched with the file folder facing up, then I punched again with the file folder facing down (now I have 5 holes at the top, and 5 holes at the bottom of my folder). To get the center holes, I pulled the Cinch guide all the way out to the furthest measurement, inserted the folder facing up, and punched.

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 7

I finished up by adding the wire binding to the folders and adding my keepsakes to the folders. Large items can just be slipped into the folders, and smaller items can be placed inside the pockets.

Template Studio File Folder Keepsake Holder by Samantha Taylor 8

Now my keepsakes from my kids have their own place. It’s so much easier to pull them out now, and I’ve cleaned off the clutter from my dresser! The best part is that, if my folders fill up, I can always add more! How do you save those cards, drawings, and little mementos from special people in your life?

 

Supplies

Template Studio Starter Kit
Template Studio File Folder Guide
Evolution Advanced
Cinch

2 thoughts on “DIY Keepsake Storage Binder

Leave a Reply

