Military Appreciation Layout

In the US this week we get to celebrate our former and current servicemen and women, and we’re joining in on the celebration here on the blog! We’ll be sharing ideas for showing appreciation for and celebrating the service and sacrifices of our military and their families all week long. We hope you’re inspired to say “thank you” to someone you know who has given so much in the service of our country.

Hello WR fans! Carrie here with you today to help kick off Military Appreciation Week. I am sharing with you a layout I made using a picture of my son in JROTC. I used a lot of older WRMK Red, White and Blue line I created this layout. The colors were so bold which made turning the picture black and white stand out even more so I wanted to keep this layout simple and to the point. With a little die cutting, fussy cutting and the new WR HeatWave Foil Pen I was able to achieve just that.

Military Appreciation Layout by Carrie Walz for We R Memory Keepers #heatwave #wermemorykeepers

When I finished my layout I felt it needed just a little bit more, something was missing and I knew the HeatWave Foil Pen would provide that little added punch. If you are new to this tool, I would recommend doing a few practice runs just to play it safe. While my pen was heating up I chose the stencil I wanted along with the color of HeatWave foil and aligned it up on the paper I wanted to transfer my foil to.


I slowly traced through the stencil going over the foil a few times. When you are done I suggest you carefully peel up your stencil and foil to see if there are any spots in which you need to go over again. I also found it help if you use some tape to hold your foil down. I used washi tape since it is easy to remove. When you are tracing through your stencil use a slow downward motion and apply a bit a pressure but not too much. The reason I suggest doing some practice runs is because the foil transfers differently to different textured papers. Once I got all of this done I did some fussy cutting to carefully outline my transfer so that I could use it as an embellishment.


I hope I was able to show you one of the many ways you can use this new tool and if you have any other tips or inspiration we would love for you to share in the comments or on our Facebook Page!

Products Used:

WRMK HeatWave Foil Pen

WRMK 4×6 HeatWave Foil

WRMK HeatWave Flourish Stencil

WRMK 12×12 Red White and Blue patterned papers

WRMK 6×6 Yankee Doodles Paper Pad

One thought on “Military Appreciation Layout

Leave a Reply

