Holiday Treat Boxes with the 123 Punch Board

During the last few days before Christmas we’ll be sharing some great ideas for last minute gift packaging for goodies, neighbor gifts, friend gifts, and more. Samantha get us started with some pretty String Tie Boxes she made with the 123 Punch Board. Enjoy!

Hello, Samantha here to have a little fun with holiday gifting. This time of year it seems like I can never have enough little boxes for packaging treats and hostess gifts. Today I’m going to show you how to make some string tie treat boxes using the 123 Punch Board, so you’ll always have plenty of pretty packaging on hand.

String Tie Treat Boxes by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers

Tie up boxes are similar to the regular gift box you can make with the 123 Punch Board, but instead of a flat top, you get a more domed top that you tie up with string or ribbon. To make these stand out even more I made them see through. One I made see through with a window, and the other was made see through by using Clearly Posh acetate to create the box.

You can find detailed instructions for the tie up box in the booklet that’s included with the 123 Punch Board, but I’m also going to share a few photos of my process here.

String tie treat boxes using the 123 punch board by  Samantha Taylor 2

Start by choosing the size box you want to make. Follow the directions for punching and scoring, however, you can skip scoring any of the C lines.

String tie treat boxes using the 123 punch board by  Samantha Taylor 3

You need to cut 2 of the sides away from the box. You can see in the photo above where I’ve made my cuts. If your box is taller than it is wide (my red box is taller than wide, my see through box is not), you will need to trim your flaps down or they won’t fit inside the box. Above, you can see pencil lines drawn where I will be cutting my flaps down. You can also see the pencil lines I have drawn that I will be using to cut my window into my box.

String tie treat boxes using the 123 punch board by  Samantha Taylor 4

Here’s what the box looks like all cut up, before it’s assembled.

String Tie Treat Boxes by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers

I like to use Sticky Thumb Adhesive Dots to assemble my boxes. They’re strong enough to hold the boxes together, but they’re almost invisible when used with acetate. I filled this box with some yummy caramel filled chocolate cookies.

String Tie Treat Boxes by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers

I filled the Clearly Posh box with letterpress coasters (you can find a tutorial for making this great hostess gift here). For both boxes, I used ribbon from American Crafts Christmas Ribbon Value Pack to tie up the top.

String Tie Treat Boxes by Samantha Taylor for We R Memory Keepers

No matter what you put in them, string tie treat boxes are a pretty and fun way to wrap up Christmas cookies and gifts! Have you tried making string tie boxes with the 123 Punch Board?

 

Supplies

1-2-3 Punch Board
Designer Poster Board Candy Cane
Clearly Posh Confetti Dot Silver
Trim & Score Board
Crop-A-Dile ¼” Hole Punch
DIY Tag Punch
Sticky Thumb Adhesive Dots
American Crafts Premium Ribbon Value Pack Christmas

2 thoughts on “Holiday Treat Boxes with the 123 Punch Board

Leave a Reply

