Washi Tape Wall Art

Hi there! Chantalle with you again and today I’d like to share an idea for some easy wall art for your home, using the new Animal Washi Tape dispensers. The Scotty Dog and Rhino shapes are not only wonderful fun for your workspace, the clever serrated edge makes tearing off a bit of tape a breeze.

Washi Tape Wall Art featuring the We R Memory Keepers Organization Gallery by Chantalle McDaniel

To compliment the bright colours and fun patterns of the tapes, I’ve chosen to work with some gorgeous FUSEable paper in coordinating shades. I’ve chosen some simple patterns to really let the washi shine. To start, I’ve set some large letters (initials of my children) in Silhouette Studio.

Washi wall art_2

I used the Silhouette Vinyl setting but adjusted the blade from 1 to 4 with a double cut. (I always set the speed pretty slow to ensure a nice clean cut.)

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 2.04.50 pm

I wanted the washi to show through from behind the paper, so I then traced the cut letter shape with a pencil onto some plain white cardstock, adding alternating strips of washi tape to cover the shape.

Washi wall art_3

I did two letters, an E for my Daughter and a J for my Son. These were now ready for me to add my FUSEable paper over the top.

Washi wall art_4

For an extra bit of detail, I chose to add a little bit of pink FUSEable ruffle strip to my Daughter’s one. I love that it is cleverly pre-marked so you know exactly where to fold it! NOTE: The FUSEable papers and embellishments feel slightly different to fusing a sleeve, as you can allow an extra second or so to melt the plastic. Take your time when rolling across the media, especially with the ruffle strips which are a bit thicker once folded.

Washi wall art_5

A closer look at that gorgeous washi with a couple of FUSEable butterflies.

Washi wall art_6

Here’s how my Son’s one turned out. I adore that cute pup! Both of the 12×12 papers have been raised on some foam tape so the different prints don’t blend in together too much.

Washi wall art_7

I’ve displayed each monogram picture inside an Organization Gallery box frame and they look great on the walls in their rooms!

Washi Tape Wall Art featuring the We R Memory Keepers Organization Gallery by Chantalle McDaniel

Thanks so much for stopping by today. Wishing you lots of fun with your Animal Washi Tape Dispenser!



Organization Gallery Box Frame
Animal Washi Tape Dispenser
FUSEable 12×12 ‘Delight’
FUSEable 12×12 ‘Starburst’
FUSEable Ruffle Strips
FUSEable Die Cut Plastic Shapes
Bazzill Cardstock



3 thoughts on “Washi Tape Wall Art

Leave a Reply

