Guest Designer Ashley Horton

We’re thrilled to welcome guest designer Ashley Horton today to share some project using Flower Girl. Get to know a bit more about Ashley, visit her social media channels, and then enjoy her gorgeous projects below!

Ashley Horton headshot

Hi!  My name is Ashley Horton, and I live in the Southern US, with my husband Tyler and our three children.  I have been scrapbooking for 10 years, and I have loved every moment of it!  I currently design for Crate Paper, Pink Paislee, Hip Kit Club and A Flair for Buttons.  I also own an Etsy store, called The Cut Shoppe, where I sell digital cut files and printables.  Most of my time is spent between homeschooling our three children and scrapbooking, but I also enjoy reading and cooking!

Blog  |  Instagram  |  Pinterest  |  Facebook  |  The Cut Shoppe


WRMK Group Shot

Be You:

I love to use large die cuts on my layouts that let me feature a lot of patterned paper.  On the Be You layout, I cut a large heart die cut from patterned paper and backed it with a darker patterned paper for contrast.  Because the background had a lot going on, I placed my photo at the center of the layout, to draw attention to it.  Then I used a mix of embellishments from the Veneer Shapes, Accent Stickers, and Ephemera to add interest to the layout.

Be You

Be You2

Be You1



Hello Hello Happy:

One of my go to products in a collection is definitely the 6×6 paper pad.  I love to use the papers from the 6×6 pad to back die cuts or create shapes for my layout.  And the smaller pattern always looks great.  I used several pieces from the Flower Girl 6×6 paper pad behind a talk bubble cut file on my Hello Hello Happy layout.  I love the pops of color against the cut file and White background.  And all of the talk bubbles were perfect for adding embellishments from the Flower Girl collection.

Hello Hello Happy

Hello Hello Happy2

Hello Hello Happy1


Hey You:

Frames are always a fun embellishment, and they work great on cards!  I used one of the frames from the Card & Frame Kit to create a layered design.  I placed the frame in the center of the card and then used embellishments from the Veneer Shapes and Ephemera to place inside the frame.  I added a sentiment with the Veneer word “Hey” included in the Veneer Shapes and paired it with the word “You” using stickers from the Accent Stickers sheet.

Hey You

Hey You1

Hey You2

Thank you for joining us today Ashley. We love your beautiful projects!


One thought on “Guest Designer Ashley Horton

Leave a Reply

