Glowing Wedding Favor

Hello We R fans! Chantalle here, and I’m very excited to share an idea for a special party favour with you. Using just a few simple supplies, you can create one in no time at all.


To create my cake shape, I have used the new Pop Up Birthday Cake die. One would ordinarily adhere this shape inside a folded card so that, once opened, it springs to life.  By sealing the bottom of the shape, I have created a ‘solid’ slice. Leaving the candles off and using neutral tones has given this favour box understated elegance.


The die set comprises of 9 shapes. The image below shows the pieces I have used from the set. You will notice, I have left out the candle elements. By spacing your dies efficiently on a piece of 6x12inch cardstock, you can cut two lots of shapes from one 12×12 sheet. The Evolution Advanced magnetic cutting mat is great for this job, as you simply lay your dies on the mat, which will hold them in place for you, so no slipping as you run your paper though the diecut machine!


Assembling the cake is very straightforward.  What I love about WRMK products is that they come with great step-by-step instructions. This die set is no exception. To seal the little gap where the cake meets the icing on the wider side, I have opened the box up and run a line of wet adhesive, then pressed the edges together gently. (see arrows) The reason I have done it on the inside is so that it won’t be visible from the outside. I don’t want anything spoiling the view of what I have planned for the top!


Once the glue was dry, I filled the inside with a strand of Ruler Studio lights. It just so happens the length of the cake fits the battery pack inside perfectly!

* Make sure to include batteries for your guests.


Next, I flipped it right side up and fed one of the little light strands up through the hole that was already in the cardstock from the die. (This is where the candle would slot in).

The DIY Party range now includes some absolutely gorgeous new light strand bulb covers. Stars… lanterns… butterflies… and all in a selection of colours. I’ve chosen to work with the Metallic Die Cut Flower covers for this project, grabbing a large gold foil and smaller white flower. Just layer the shapes up and pop a clear bulb through the centre. This then fits over the little led light. Note: Push it on well for a secure fit.



With the lights now in place, I just sealed up the bottom using a heart-shaped punch and some American Crafts Glitter Tape.


Here’s a peek of that beautiful bloom in the better light. Love that gold foil!


When you are ready to give your favours to your guests, simply open the box up and turn on the lights.


I love the warm glow from within. It would definitely add a romantic charm to a wedding reception table setting.


You could choose to include the bulb covers from the start or hand them out to guests at a later point. Now they get to have more fun at home!

The best part of this idea is that it’s so easy to customize. Brighten up the card colour for a birthday and combine with colourful butterflies or keep it tonal for a baby shower. So many possibilities!



Thank you for joining me today. I love this little light up favour so much, I wish I could have my wedding all over again!

Happy crafting,







Pop Up Birthday Cake die

Evolution Advanced

Ruler Studio Bulb Strand

DIY Party Metallic Bulb Covers


Bazzill cardstock (smooth)

One thought on “Glowing Wedding Favor

Leave a Reply

