A DIY Teepee: 10 Techniques to Try

Hello We R friends, and welcome to Kids Craft Week! We know that for some of you school’s out and there are little people in your life that need some summer crafting time, so we thought we’d share some kids craft ideas this week. Our team has put together some awesome projects that you can make for kids to keep them entertained, or with kids to keep them busy. So, grab your notebook and get ready to write down some fabulous ideas!

First off, we’re thrilled to welcome our June guest designer, Megan Hoeppner. Megan has worked in the craft industry extensively as an editor, writer, teacher, author, blogger, crafter, and in public relations. She currently works as editor-in-chief for Scrapbook & Cards Today magazine, the industry’s leading publication; teaches live and online classes; blogs for Gardner Village, a group of locally-owned specialty retail shops and restaurants in Utah; and makes regular television appearances on Studio 5, the leading local Utah lifestyle program. Get to know Megan through her social media accounts, and then check out her amazing kids craft project below.


My Blog
Insta: @meganhoeppner
Periscope: @meganhoeppner
Twitter: @meganhoeppner

Say, say, oh playmate. Won’t you come out and play with me? Bring your scissors, three. Climb inside my teepee.


When it comes to crafting, there’s not much I like more than making decor for my girls’ rooms. There’s just something about the whimsy of it all I find extra enchanting. So when We R asked me to join their Kids’ Crafts week, you bet I was all in. Especially when it meant playing with the fab new teepee kit. Swoon!


The teepee is available in white and cream—perfect for the monochrome (black and white) look I’ve been adding to my daughter’s room!


The kit comes with an awesome assortment of embellishments, but some don’t fit my black/white/pop-of-green color scheme. No worries! I simply used them as patterns to fashion my own coordinating elements (including some of the pieces shown here).


Here are ten techniques for building your own unique teepee. I included a variety of options and approaches so you can pick and choose the ideas that most appeal to you. Let’s do it to it!



My mad sewing skillz leave much to be desired, so I didn’t want to stitch pieces onto my teepee. Instead, I turned cotton into iron-on transfers by treating it with fusible webbing (Heat-n-Bond Ultra Hold by Therm O Web). This also gives fabric rigidity and keeps it from fraying.

Tip: Once you’ve added the webbing, don’t remove the paper backing from the fabric until it’s time to adhere your elements to your teepee.



The kit’s felt pieces are sturdy and thick, making them awesome tracing templates. I used the flag to create banner pieces and mountains.


Tip: Make your fabric double-sided (for the banner) by ironing two pieces together. Don’t worry about putting iron-on webbing on the back of both. Instead, save on materials and iron a treated piece (piece with webbing) to an untreated piece and trim around the edges.

I used a feather from the kit to make my own. I added some stitching to give it added feather feel and sewed a loop at the top so it would wrap around the teepee poles.




I {heart} the included foam stamps. Isn’t this a great heart? If the idea of stamping directly on your teepee freaks you out, try stamping on fabric using acrylic paint. Then cut the painted shape out (once dry) and iron it on your teepee.


You can also use the stamps as quick stencils. I found it easier to trace the outer edge of the stamps, which results in a slightly larger image than if you stamp directly.


One reason I love adding my own handmade touches to a project is it allows me to personalize. In this case, I stitched my daughters’ names on two of the hearts and adhered them to the teepee. This teepee belongs to…🙂




As soon as I laid eyes on this fabric (by Dear Stella and Wee Gallery), I was crushing hard. I bought it a year ago and knew it would make it’s way into Maggie’s room one way or another. At last, it’s found its home! The little friends look so charming along the bottom of the teepee.


Like a game of paper dolls, dressing these playful pals is great fun. There is actually fabric designed with bitty clothes on it that fit these friends. Or you can design your own, following any of these approaches:

Option 1: Make a template by placing see-through paper over your fabric and sketching an outfit, trimming your sketch, and using it to cut clothes.


Stitch clothing. This is by far the most time-consuming option (took me about 45 min. per animal), but the outcome sure is cute.


Draw directly on the fabric using a fabric-friendly marker, such as the Micron pen from Sakura.




Now comes the fun part—dressing up your teepee. With a variety of accents prepared, it’s time to actually add them to your teepee. You’ll want to add them before actually assembling the teepee (inserting the poles). All of these steps are no-sew, so this part comes together fairly quickly. I started by hot-gluing pom pom trim around the bottom of my teepee.





I topped my teepee with more iron-on fabric. I found it easiest to start with a square of fabric and then trim away the sides to fit the teepee’s shape. The spacing isn’t 100% even from teepee panel (side) to panel, which means you’ll want to measure and cut each of your four toppers uniquely. Don’t forget to cut a hole from the grommet.


Once my four panels were ironed on, I added a layer of trim along the bottom seam of each, alternating between white poms and black (white on front and back sides of teepee; black on sides of teepee).


I also added small strips of the same fabric to the space around the door.




Have fun playing with the placement of your fabric pieces. Once you’re satisfied with where they’ll go, iron them on following the directions on the fusible webbing’s packaging.




I draped my teepee in all sorts of happy bits. The cream felt tassel from the kit, my DIY feather, a yarn pom, and a fabric flower went around the poles at the top. (Oh, I also placed a cloud mobil I made from a wire hanger and some yarn on the top, just for pics. I doubt I’ll leave it there.)


The draping continued with the addition of the kit’s cute felt pom garland. And I turned my cut triangles into a banner, which I paired with a pre-made “high five” banner I picked up at a local craft fair. (High Five banner by The Bees Knees Shoppe.)




Let’s talk lights! Lighting adds so much to the finished look. I’m a bit obsessed with lights in my girls’ rooms, so I had many options to choose from. These groovy fabric ball lights are from Target.


The bitty star marquee in Maggie’s hand is from Heidi Swapp. It’s battery operated (love!), so it can go inside the teepee with ease.


And my beloved cloud light is from Fromage la Rue—an Australian company.




Maggie turns four tomorrow, so this was a special surprise for her birthday. I LOVED calling her up to her room and watching her face light up when she ran in and found her special space.



Here baby sister, Lulu, is quite taken with it, too.




The kid crafting continues! Make a mini teepee to match. I’ll show you how on my blog.


I can already tell these girls are going to enjoy much teepee time together. In fact, Maggie asked to sleep in it last night. LOL If you end up adding a teepee to your space and sharing it online, you’ll have to let me know. I’d love to see how you take this fun kit and make it your own.




Happy crafting!

Megan Hoeppner



5 thoughts on “A DIY Teepee: 10 Techniques to Try

  1. Your girls are so sweet! Love their bright smiles! I really love what you have done with the teepee kit! I dream of one day being able to afford one for my beautiful 4 year old granddaughter who has lived with us for the last 10 months! It was a lot easier chasing after a 4 year old when I was 27 instead of 47 and on oxygen but she is such an easy little gal and makes it easier for me! I can’t imagine life without her and would give my life for her! TFS!

  2. Oh my stars–this might be the sweetest post evah!!! I’m not only over the moon for your dear little Maggie’s new teepee, I’m absolutely head over heels in love with your 2 little darlings and how you’ve captured the joy and happiness they exuded during your little photo shoot! Surprising her must have been worth all that work you obviously put into her space–it’s truly beautiful and so very special. A true labor of love and what a treat to get a peek into your world and life. Precious!!! And very inspiring!!! TFS🙂 And a very happy 4th birthday to your little one! They are both SO cute!!!🙂

    • Linsey, your sweet comment made me “Oohhhh” out loud (OOL?).😉 Thanks so much for taking time to share such kind remarks. I sure appreciate it! You’ve hit the nail on the head–this was a labor of love. And it was SUCH fun to work on. I’m delighted my babes are enjoying it as much as they are.❤

Leave a Reply

