Patriotic Rosette Decor + Light Strand Giveaway


Happy Summer!  Welcome to Red, White, and Blue Week! This week we’re celebrating all things summer and patriotic, and we’re excited about the projects our team has put together for you. As part of our celebration, we’re also giving away our DIY Party Light Strand collection because, well, summer celebrations are so much more fun with lights!

First off is a project from Shellye, and then scroll down to enter our Light Strand Giveaway!


Hello! Shellye here to share a fun patriotic home décor project featuring handmade rosettes using the DIY Party Fringe & Score Board, as well as other tools and products!

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes HI RES1

I started by preparing the base (to add the rosettes to) with the “Natural 12” Folded Ruler.”  I shaped the ruler into a star shape: each line is two sections of the ruler, for a total of five sections.  The overall shape measures 22”X22”.

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes8

Now for the three rosettes:  I’ve used the DIY Party 12X12 Cardstock Pad and the colors of red, turquoise and metallic silver.  For the two outer rosettes: the turquoise cardstock was cut into 4”wide strips, the red cardstock cut into 3” strips and the metallic silver cut into 2” strips.

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes3

Next, the DIY Party Fringe & Score Board was used to score the paper at every 1” interval.  Before accordion folding the paper, I punched each end of the paper with the DIY Party Rosette Paper Punch.

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes4

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes5

The turquoise paper was punched at every 1” mark, which created a more simple edging.  The red paper was punched at every-other 1” mark, creating a more decorative edge.  It’s fun to mix and match the designs!

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes HI RES2

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes10

The three colors of rosettes were assembled and then stacked together and glued in place.

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes7

For the center rosette, I used only the red and turquoise papers and then the metallic silver for the letter “S”.

The Alphabet Punch Board and DIY Party Kraft 3X4 Paper Pad were used to create the letters “U” and “A”.  Again, I used some of the leftover metallic silver to create the letter “S”. White mini lights from the Ruler Studio Collection were added around the star frame.

Shellye McDaniel-Patriotic Rosettes9

The piece can stand by a fireplace, on a shelf or can even be hung from a door.  Use string to tie the rosettes to the ruler and then change them out with other colors throughout the year!



WR_LightStrand giveaway (2)-2

We’re giving away our Light Strand collection to one lucky random winner, and if you’d like to enter for a chance to win please leave a comment below telling me how you would use our Light Strand collection this summer. Comments will remain open until Thursday night at midnight, and our random winner will be announced on Friday, July 1st. Good luck, and remember to check back to see if you won!



DIY Party Fringe & Score Board
DIY Party Rosette Paper Punch
DIY 12X12 Cardstock Pad
Alphabet Punch Board
660924 Natural 12” Folded Ruler
660942 Bulb Strand
660896 Kraft Pad
660894 Kraft & Mint Foil Pad


46 thoughts on “Patriotic Rosette Decor + Light Strand Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Light Strand Collection Winner! | We R Memory Keepers Blog

  2. Love the partiotic craft! I would use the beautiful lights to brighten up my home – bringing sparkle to my craft room and my living are… and my bedroom. I could really use it!

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Links to Tangles, Tutorials and Giveaways #zentangle #Giveaways #ArtJournal | Life Imitates Doodles

  4. These are amazing!!! My granddaughter turns 8 in July and she is having a pool party. I would use them with other decorations fot a great good time for the kids. Thank you for giving us the chance to win something so wonderful.

  5. I would love to add more color and light to my craft area. These adorable lights would be a perfect addition to my area where I craft and create.

  6. I LOVE the light set. I have a 2 piece glass container that has a lower part I would put the lights in and the upper part holds a candle. This would be AWESOME!!!!

  7. What a festive decorative piece of art!!! I just love these fairy lights to attract anyone’s attention to this red blue white creation.. I would love to win these festive lights for my garden where we enjoy the outdoors and plants in the evening. It would look amazing with these lights.

  8. My 8 and 11 year old have a teepee that they are going to build and decorate during their long summer school holiday – these lights would make the perfect glamorous finishing touch.

  9. I would use the light strand on the window frame that sits on my mantel. I have a banner that I die cut with spring pattern paper hanging across the window frame.

  10. Wow, great giveaway! I would
    use them to light up our photo
    area for background lighting!
    Super fun!
    Carla from Utah

  11. I would use them in my craft room and be inspired by them. I would drape them over some of my favorite Boyd’s bears.

  12. I just got my alphabet punch board, now I can make some great banners! The string lights would add such a great look to my projects. Thank you for the chance to win.

  13. I would use it as a night light decor for my son. If we ever get a house with a yard, I would use it outside for night party lights. The uses are endless.

  14. I actually made a star just like this from the cheap yardsticks at home depot! I love how your version is decorated here! I would totally use lights in my new home, decor is always on the bottom of the to-buy list, so it’d be great to win some!

  15. My mom spends a lot of time on her patio at night – I would love to create something special for her to enjoy when she’s relaxing out there.

  16. It would go with my happy birthday 4th banner, but I’m loving these rosettes. I didn’t know hoe you used the punch, now I see it is a must have

  17. That’s a really cool project! I would use the lights to decorate for holidays or even just to switch up decorations on our patio.

  18. This would be perfect for a 4th of July decor at the cottage! We celebrate with family and fun. Would be fun to make a special decoration!

  19. We just started making some of these stars ourselves and love the patriotic idea!! Those light strands are adorable and would love to add them to a variety of crafting projects my sister and I do – would just add the right touch!

  20. Oh my stars!!! Your Light Strand Collection is out of this world AWESOME!!! I do own a light strand from another company and I must say–you just beat them out and are my new favorite!!! This collection is SO innovative and unique! I’m beyond in love with the designs, most especially the diamond shaped strands!! Eeeeep!!! I can envision a beautiful array of Light Strands illuminating my entire backyard patio area for a fun summer painting party with my bestest crafting buddies!!! I’d string these beauties everywhere I can get them–along the food and beverage table, all around the canopy and I would definitely have to incorporate a strand into my homemade 4th of July front door wreath!!! Endless possibilities with these sparking lovelies!!! Thanks so much for the fabulous inspiration today Shellye! Love your festive décor!!! Happy Summer, everyone!!!

  21. Awesome Patriotic Rosette Decor! I Love the fact that you share your creative visions with us. I would Love to win this! I would use this for so many things! On my screened porch or deck for the summer, inside to add extra lights inside my house. A Great item for parties! Thanks for the chance to win!

  22. I would love to use the lights out on my deck because all that is out there are 2 chairs and a table. We always have a 4th of July get together and watch fire works out there. Adding there adorable lights would be so cute!

  23. OMG! The ENTIRE collection of light strands?!?! WOW! y heart would really be going BOOM! BOOM! BOOM! if I was the winner of these awesome lights!
    We just built a new deck and are planning to have a party to christen it, I would use the lights to brighten the night without making it feel like daytime! After that I would use them in my craft room to prettify it! Who doesn’t need pretty lights in their life? I am somewhat of a light collector and have different ones that come out to play but they aren’t as pretty as these are!! Looking forward to this week’s posts showcasing them!!
    BTW: I love this pretty decoration! TFS and fingers crossed!

  24. I would love to incorporate this adorable light strand into my mantel decor. I love pops of glowing lights throughout my home. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

