Pillow Box Gift Wrap

Hey, We R fans, Laura here with a fun gift wrap idea for you this week. Today, I am going to show you how to use the Template Studio with the Pillow Box guide to create adorable pillow boxes you can use to wrap up the perfect gift for your best friend. Pillow boxes are great because they can accommodate gifts that are oddly shaped and would be hard to wrap with traditional wrapping paper.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 1

To start, you need to trim your paper to the measurements shown on the Pillow Box Guide instructions. I chose to make the smallest size box, so I needed to trim my paper to 13” x 10”. You use the A and B or B and C guides to cut or score straight lines with your template.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 2

Once you have cut your paper to the correct size, follow the instructions that came with the Pillow Box guide. You will need both the cutting blade and scoring blade to create your box.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 3

Assemble your box using adhesive along the folded edge. Then, decorate it however you like. I found it easier to decorate the box before folding the flaps down on each side.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 4

To decorate the first box, I cut a thin strip from the Flower Girl Collection papers and used adhesive to apply it around the middle of the box.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 5

Next, I created a flag piece using the Banner Punch board. I cut out two separate strips of patterned paper, with one being a little wider than the other. I used the punch board to cut the flag shape out of the bottom of each strip. I folded the strips in half and used adhesive to attach them to the top of the box.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 6

I finished off the box by adding a wooden veneer banner shape from the Flower Girl collection.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 7

I wanted the second pillow box to look like a purse. I started by creating a slightly larger pillow box than the first one. Once the box was assembled, I cut a decorative floral shape using the Evolution Advanced and leftover pink paper from the first box.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 8

Fold the shape in half and adhere it to the top of the pillow box. Then, I cut a ¾” strip of the pink paper to create a “strap” for the purse. I cut slits in the top of the box and slid the straps into the box.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 9

To make it look like the purse flap has a snap, I used the Crop-O-Dile and a wide eyelet on the front part of the pink flap.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 10

The pillow box gift wrap is the perfect way to add a little something special to a gift for your best girlfriend.

Pillow Box Gift Wrap by Laura Silva 11

 

Supplies:

Template Studio
Pillow Box Guide
Designer Poster Board
Banner Punch Board
Evolution Advanced
Flower Girl Collection
Crop-O-Dile
Wide Eyelets

Leave a Reply

