Template Studio Party Decor

Hello We R fans and welcome back to the blog today!


My little Miss is going to be celebrating her sixth birthday tomorrow and preparations for her special day are in full swing! Living in tropical Queensland, winter is pretty mild, but there is always a chance that the weather will turn on the day, so I want to bring a touch of summer to the festivities.


My party decor has been put together using only a few supplies – the WRMK Template Studio and some cardstock! I’ve used the circle template to create the awesome cones (which I saw a long time ago and have been keen to try for aaaaaaages) the placemats and the party hats.


To make the 4 place settings, cones and hats I used:


4x A2 sheets of cream card

4x A2 sheets of green card

2x A2 sheets of pink card

a little bit of glitter tape and some ribbon/twine/thin elastic


To start, I used the measurements set out on the instructions that come with the Template Studio Guides. One can purchase the guides separately or in the starter kit which comes with 5 templates and allows you to create large scale gift bags, envelopes, boxes, home decor and more!


I created the placemats first, which called for a trimmed piece of card, 16×16 inches each.


Once I had cut down the card to the correct size, I laid each one on the mat and used the circle guide to cut my circles.


I accented my placemats simply with some pretty white doilies.


Next on the decor list were the ice cream cones. The cones I saw actually floated, which is such a fantastic idea. One could use the smaller circle template and create cones the size of the party hats instead. I wanted a centered focal point, so I went with the larger circle template instead and created the larger cones. The paper called for a 22 x 22 inch piece of card for each cone. I trimmed and cut as per the instructions above and was left with 4 bigger cream circles, which I rolled into cones.


I threaded the balloons, complete with twine, down through the centre of the cone and adhered the twine to the bottom of the cone so the balloon had a stable base in which to rest.



My third party project was to create some matching party hats. No party would be complete without a hat! So I went about fashioning some out of pink card. These hats also took a 16” x 16” piece of card each. After I created the circles, I cut them in half and then cut them again, at 45 degrees to the halfway line, as show in the image below. Bring the two ends together and you have a super cute party hat!


I popped a hole on each side of the hat and threaded a ribbon though the hole, securing it on the inside of the hat.


Next step was to make the little bows for the outside of the hats. I used the One Piece Bow Die to create the shape, snipping off the little bit that secures the bow together. I replaced this part with some green glitter tape to coordinate with the placemats.


Don’t they look adorable!



Also on my table are some super adorable and brand new number mini pinatas! I decorated my number 6’s very simply with white and gold DIY Fringe tape.


You can choose to display your pinatas on the table or create seriously inexpensive mini cake stands with a plate and a disposable cup!


You may have noticed that I have used my absolute fave string lights on the table too. I just can’t get enough of them! I’ve popped some white butterfly bulb covers onto a few of the lights and woven it along the centrepiece. I love the gentle glow it gives off. Other finishing touches are some DIY Party bright confetti and some flamingo silhouettes I cut out using my Cameo.


Thank you for joining me today. Wishing you many hours of happy crafting until we meet again!





Template Studio Starter Kit
Circle Template Guide
Evolution Advanced
One Piece Bow Die
DIY Party confetti
DIY Party light strand
DIY Party Butterfly Bulb Covers
DIY Party Mini Pinatas
DIY Fringe Tape

2 thoughts on “Template Studio Party Decor

Leave a Reply

