Rio-Inspired Scrapbook Page

The summer games begin this Friday in Rio, and we are so excited to watch them that we thought it would be fun to incorporate our excitement into the blog projects this week. Each day this week our designers have been given a project challenge that is related to the games, and let me tell you…you are in for an amazing week! Chantalle is up today, and her challenge was to create a project inspired by the city of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Check out what she came up with!


Hello We R fans and welcome back to the blog today! As the world focuses on Rio, it’s difficult not be drawn to the exotic nature of such an inspiring city. On my bucket list for sure, I hope I will one day be able to take in the sights and sounds myself!

Australia Zoo_1

Perhaps it’s totally stereotyped, but a lush jungle theme comes to mind when I think of South America. Living in tropical Queensland on the Eastern coast of Australia, we are never far away from a palm tree or two!

A fabulous place to visit, if you are ever our way, is Australia Zoo. We purchased some season passes last year which were wonderful, especially for the kids, as we got to go and enjoy all the zoo has to offer, as often as we liked. This interactive page captures all the fun we had on a visit during the school holidays.

Australia Zoo_2

I’ve really made use of my Fuse Tool on this project and created a flip-style mini album. For the base, I have used the reverse side of a 12×12 sheet of Fusables paper. Because it’s made of plastic, you can easily adhere any fuseable item directly to it.

Australia Zoo_3

I like to wait a good while for my Fuse Tool to heat up. The fuseables are slightly thicker than a plastic sleeve so it’s helpful to have a nice hot tool. Be careful to not rest in one spot for too long when using it though, as it will leave a hole in the material. Slowish and steady is the way!

Australia Zoo_4

For the album, I fused a Keepsake Pocket shut and popped it under a couple of 4×6 waterfall sleeves. On top of that I fused a 4×4 waterfall sleeve and a cute little Instax size sleeve as well. As you can see, this size if perfect for a credit/business card size item. These were all fused directly to my base paper apart from the Keepsake Pocket, which I actually removed so I could adhere some leaves behind it.

Australia Zoo_5

Once I was happy with the sleeves, I went about creating a tropical theme as the zoo is bursting with flora and fauna. I really wanted to build up lots of layers, just like a jungle, so I cut lots of leaf and feather shapes using a selection of colour card from a 12×12 DIY Party cardstock pad. This pad even includes metallics, which is awesome! I set my cut shapes up on either side of the cutting mat. As you can see in the pics, I have split two colours on one cutting mat. This is an awesome time saver!

Australia Zoo_6

For a bit of extra definition when layering, don’t forget to pop some areas up on foam tape. On some of the leaves and feathers, I have also added some machine stitching. One could also bring the cut shapes to life too with a bit of watercolour paint to create light and shade.

Australia Zoo_7

Let’s take a peek inside the album. The 4×4 sleeve contains some pics which the zoo photographer takes. If you want a copy, you take the sample to get printed off for you. I figure these little sample shots will just end up in the bin, so I grab mine if I see them out on display.

Australia Zoo_8

Flip this one up and underneath, I have included a kangaroo food bag, which I have used to scribble a bit about our day.

Australia Zoo_9

Some more photos are revealed underneath that. I have saved on printing by setting a few photos up on one 4×6. By doing this I was able to include 18 photos in only 3 sleeves!

Australia Zoo_10

Australia Zoo_11

To compliment the fresh tones of the cardstock, I’ve added a few little Flower Girl ephemera here and there.

Australia Zoo_12

I like to include a bit of chit chat in my pages and I don’t know why I don’t include the text on my photos more often. Another little time saver!

Australia Zoo_13

Australia Zoo_14

Right at the bottom of the album you can see the Keepsake pocket.

Australia Zoo_15

Australia Zoo_16

Australia Zoo_17

The pocket was perfect to store a copy of the treasure hunt map we completed on the day. Looking back on Erin’s little handwriting one day will be priceless. I adhered the pocket back onto my page after I had placed some foliage behind it. It’s a good idea to use a clear adhesive like glue dots etc so you don’t see you adhesive so much when you remove the items in the pocket to view them.

Australia Zoo_18

A final little touch was using my Crop-a-Dile scallop punch to give a nice bit of detail to my corners. The Fuseable paper is punchable, but it’s best to snip anything that doesn’t cut cleanly, as tearing it off will ruin it. (I’ve run over the paper with my sewing machine, as the white just looked a little plain.)

Australia Zoo_19

Here is another look at the full page.


Thank you so much for joining me today.

Until next time,

Happy crafting!





Fuse Tool
Waterfall Fuse Sleeves:4×6,  4×4Instax
Fuse Keepsake Pockets
Fuseables ‘Confetti’
Diy Party 12×12 Cardstock Pad
DIY Party Die Cut Butterfly (metallic)
DIY Party Confetti
Flower Girl Ephemera
Oh Goodie Shaped Paper Clips

4 thoughts on “Rio-Inspired Scrapbook Page

  1. a BEAUTY!!  I may have missed this , but how does Chantalle plan to protect this page, a/o how to display it? thanking you for great content ~diane

    From: We R Memory Keepers Blog To: Sent: Tuesday, August 2, 2016 9:05 AM Subject: [New post] Rio-Inspired Scrapbook Page #yiv4102820309 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv4102820309 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv4102820309 a.yiv4102820309primaryactionlink:link, #yiv4102820309 a.yiv4102820309primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv4102820309 a.yiv4102820309primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv4102820309 a.yiv4102820309primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv4102820309 | alydosdall posted: “The summer games begin this Friday in Rio, and we are so excited to watch them that we thought it would be fun to incorporate our excitement into the blog projects this week. Each day this week our designers have been given a project challenge that is rel” | |

Leave a Reply

