Swim Team Party Decor

Welcome back to the We R blog! Today Kimberly is up, and she was given the challenge to create a project with a sports theme. Check out what Kimberly created below!


swim team party decor Kimberly Crawford

Hello We R fans! Kimberly here with a set of fun sports-party décor! We are nearing the end of the long course season for swimming and it is time for our team to celebrate those who earned their way to the state level competition! I had a couple of fun ideas, but the more We R Memory Keepers tools I pulled out, the more fun ideas I had! Creating this décor was an absolute blast! I know you will want to use some of these ideas for your next team party too!

swim team party decor 3 Kimberly Crawford

To start with, I created this bunting to look like our pool lane lines. The pool lane lines are a large part of life at the pool, and I wondered if I could make something to resemble the lane lines. I thought about the DIY Party Honeycomb and how it makes 3D shapes.

swim team party decor 4 Kimberly Crawford

So, using the DIY Party Honeycomb stencils and one pad of the DIY Party Blossom Honeycomb, I traced the smallest circle down the adhered-together side. Then I cut them out with scissors. I repeated the same process for each color of Honeycomb.

swim team party decor 5 Kimberly Crawford

To create the bunting, I grabbed a long piece of DIY Party Raffia and applied liquid glue to side of my honeycomb.

swim team party decor 6 Kimberly Crawford

I placed the Raffia in the center, along the fold, and then held the sphere in place for a moment as the glue set. After making a few of these, I quickly learned that it is better to open up the Honeycomb, create the shape, and then adhere the sides together. The Honeycomb opened up more to make the sphere seem fuller.

The minute my son saw this, he knew exactly what it was! This bunting will look great hanging on the wall, but I will be making a few more to place down the center of the tables!

swim team party decor 7 Kimberly Crawford

The DIY Party Pinatas made the perfect touch-a way to commemorate the year. I know when we take photos, these will be a fun and festive reminder! Plus, how fun to include candy inside each piñata at the tables!

swim team party decor 8 Kimberly Crawford

Hands down, my favorite party of the décor are these pompoms! Perfect for the moms and dads to take home and use to cheer on their swimmer at the event!

swim team party decor 9 Kimberly Crawford

I started with the DIY Party Fringe and Score Board with DIY Party Mylar Paper Pack. After folding the sheet of Mylar in half, I lined everything up, according to the directions. Then I slid the Fringe Tool down the guide. It moves so easy, creating perfectly spaced fringe. Then I removed the Mylar paper, opening it up to lay flat. I rolled at the middle, then folded it in half again.

swim team party decor 10 Kimberly Crawford

Using an industrial stapler, we adhered one fringe to one side of a chopstick and a second one to the other side. Perfect pompoms! Coolest part is, you could also use tissue paper in the DIY Fringe and Score Board. Imagine the colors you could customize for your team!

swim team party decor 2 Kimberly Crawford

To finish the entire ensemble off, I created banners using the Banner Punchboard and the Alphabet Punchboard.  So much fun to make! It will add so much to our celebration! Go LMST!

What does your sports team have to celebrate?


DIY Party Honeycomb Stencils
DIY Party Honeycomb 5 3/4 “ x 12”; Blossom, White, Black
DIY Party Raffia
DIY Party Piñatas; 1 , 6
DIY Party Fringe Tape; Black
DIY Party Fringe and Score Board
DIY Party Mylar Paper Pack
DIY Party Card stock Pad 12×12
Banner Punch Board
Alphabet Punch Board



Leave a Reply

