Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card

Hello, We R fans, Laura here. I was challenged to create a post about facing my crafting hurdle. I do a lot of crafts, and have had a ton of failures along the way. Sometimes I end up needing to scrap the project all together, but other times the project will turn out even better than I first imagined it.

 

One of my biggest crafting hurdles right now is learning to hand letter. I can letter and often copy other fonts, but I still cannot seem to master the art of hand lettering, at least not in the way I want to be able to do it.

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 1

For this hand lettered card, I started by choosing some hand lettering fonts I have on my computer and printing them all out for inspiration. And then, I just started lettering. Pages and pages of lettering with different types of pens, trying different techniques, and alternate designs.

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 2

I am learning as I get older that it is more about progress than perfection. This is a very hard lesson for me to learn. So, once I found a lettering style that I liked, I went with it. I added the word ‘Hello’ to plain white cardstock. Then I trimmed it with my paper trimmer.

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 3

I cut out a 5 inch by 10 inch piece of textured black cardstock for the card base. I used my scoring blade to score it in the middle of the card. I added a piece of floral patterned paper from the new Urban Chic collection on top of a gold mylar sheet. I added these two pieces to the black card base.

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 4

I mounted the ‘Hello’ lettering to yellow paper from the Urban Chic collection. I added it to the card at an angle. I added some Urban Chic Ephemera to the card with adhesive squares to give it some dimension.

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 5

This will be a fun blank note card to send to one of my friends. The hand lettering might not be perfect, but it turned out better than I had hoped.

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 6

Hand Lettered Urban Chic Card by Laura Silva 7

 

What crafting hurdle have you faced lately?

 

Supplies:

White cardstock
Black textured cardstock
Gold Mylar sheet
Urban Chic Paper
Urban Chic Ephemera
Adhesive squares

 

Leave a Reply

