DIY Ephemera File Folders

Hello We R friends! It’s Aly Dosdall with you again today. Often when we think of memory keeping as crafters, we think of photos and albums. But memories aren’t just preserved through photos. Memorabilia helps preserve our memories as well. Including ticket stubs, pamphlets, receipts, notes, etc tells our stories just as well as including photos does. I love to keep bits and pieces from travels, school, etc and I keep them in a large archival safe box. But they’re really not well organized and I often struggle with remembering to include them in my album. Enter the Template Studio File Folder Guide!

DIY Ephemera File Folders by Aly Dosdall 1

I sorted through my ephemera and determined what size folders I needed. The largest size paper in my ephemera box is 8 1/2 x 11 inches, so I made my folders that size. I divided my ephemera into three basic groups–School, Church, and Travels. You can adjust your categories according to the type of ephemera you have.

DIY Ephemera File Folders by Aly Dosdall 2

To make the file folders I used three different colors of Bazzill Dotted Swiss Poster Board, the Template Studio Starter Kit, and the Template Studio File Folder Guide. I started by trimming the poster board down to the size specified in the instruction booklet.

template studio file folder 1

Then, as described in the included instructions, I used the File Folder Guide to cut the tabs and indents into my folders. The File Folder Guide allows you to make traditional and round tabs either on the side or the middle. You can visit our YouTube channel to watch an instructional video HERE.

template studio file folder 2

Then, instead of following the directions for scoring, I double scored the middle line to allow room for all the bulk from LOTS of ephemera.

template studio file folder 3 template studio file folder 4

That way I don’t have to worry about an over-bulky folder since I have so much ephemera to include in this one.

template studio file folder 5

DIY Ephemera File Folders by Aly Dosdall 4

I made the other two folders following the scoring instructions since I didn’t have as much ephemera to include in those. I staggered the tabs on all three folders for easier viewing.

DIY Ephemera File Folders by Aly Dosdall 5

To finish off I added the category to each folder using my Typecast typewriter and the labels included in the paper collection.

DIY Ephemera File Folders by Aly Dosdall 3

The Typecast labels were the perfect size for these folders, plus the black and grey colors fit perfectly with my color scheme.

template studio file folder 7

I love that the collection includes multiple colors of typewriter ribbon! I changed the ribbon to the Teal/Black color and then moved the switch on the typewriter to “CLR” so that the teal color showed instead of the black. (For an instructional video on how to do this CLICK HERE to go to our YouTube channel.)

template studio file folder 6

I’m so excited that I’ve finally got all my ephemera sorted and organized so it’s easier to find when I want to include it in my scrapbook album. And I love that I can create custom file folders in whatever color and size I want using the Template Studio.

DIY Ephemera File Folders by Aly Dosdall 6


Template Studio Starter Kit
File Folder Guide
Typecast Typewriter
Typecast Labels
Bazzill Dotted Swiss Poster Board

One thought on “DIY Ephemera File Folders

Leave a Reply

