Geometric Fall Apple Decor

Good Monday morning friends! It’s Aly Dosdall here again, and I don’t know about you, but I am so excited that fall officially begins this week! In fact we’re all so excited here at We R that we’ll be featuring fall projects from our design team all week long. So if you’re in the mood for some fall crafting inspiration, you’re in luck!

geometric-fall-apple-decor-by-aly-dosdall-1

geometric-fall-apple-decor-by-aly-dosdall-3

I’m getting things started this week with an easy fall decor idea. Recently I was browsing Pinterest and came across a lovely fall vignette featuring white pumpkins and green apples. I just loved the pairing, but wanted to come up with a different twist on the idea, so I decided to make geometric paper apples using the Trim and Score Board together with the Triangle Score Guide for my fall decor.

geometric-fall-apple-decor-by-aly-dosdall-2

To make my geometric apples I started with three 12×12 sheets of apple green cardstock. The Triangle Score Guide comes with a detailed instruction booklet. It’s important to read it all the way through before making your shapes. That helps a lot.

triangle-score-guide-1

As stated in the instructions for 2 inch icosahedrons, I placed my 12×12 paper in the Trim and Score Board and scored every 2 inches. Then I folded over the bottom left corner of my paper. That helps to make sure the paper is placed correctly as you follow the instructions.

triangle-score-guide-2

Then I removed the paper and placed the Triangle Score Guide on the Trim and Score Board flush against the top with the left edge lined up at 9 inches, and the right edge lined up at 3 inches as seen below. Then I placed my paper into the Triangle Score Guide with the folded corner at the bottom of the board. I made my first score line at 8 inches, and then scored every two inches on both side of the 8 inch mark.

triangle-score-guide-3

I removed my paper and flipped the Triangle Score Guide over so the back was facing upward, lining up the edges as before at 9 and 3 inches. I placed my paper on the board lining it up with the Triangle Score Guide so that the folded corner was on the left side of the board. I scored my first line at the 4 inch mark, and then I scored every 2 inches on either side of the 4 inch mark again.

triangle-score-guide-4

Then I removed the paper from the board and folded all the score lines to extend them all out to the edge of the paper.

triangle-score-guide-5

Then I flipped the paper upside down, and with my pen I drew the design in the instruction booklet for 2 inch icosahedrons on my paper so I knew where to cut. Then I cut out the design with my scissors, added Sticky Thumb Red Double Sided Tape to all the tabs, and assembled my 3D shapes.

triangle-score-guide-6

triangle-score-guide-7

To finish off my green apples I added papers stems and leaves.

geometric-fall-apple-decor-by-aly-dosdall-4

I love the geometric shapes and the fall feel of the apples. What a super easy and cool fall project!

geometric-fall-apple-decor-by-aly-dosdall-5

Do you like to use apples in your fall decor?

 

Supplies:

Trim and Score Board
Triangle Score Guide
Green Bazzill 12×12 Cardstock

2 thoughts on “Geometric Fall Apple Decor

Leave a Reply

