Fall Gift Idea: Caramel Apple Popcorn Goodie Bags

Hello, We R friends! Tessa Buys here with a delicious gift idea for fall. If you love caramel apples, you’re going to love this caramel apple popcorn:


Throughout the fall I make several large batches of this yummy stuff. It’s a basic caramel popcorn with dried apple slices tossed in. I love to share, so I pulled out a few sheets of Oh Goodie glassine paper and made some apple-themed goodie bags to fill with popcorn.


I used the scalloped Goodie Bag Guide to make my bags. I chose red paper because I used red apples in the recipe. Once filled with popcorn, I stapled ribbon to the closed bags. The green ribbon is like leaves and the gingham is for a fun, fall touch.


I covered up the staple with an Oh Goodie gold seal. I used the Typeset typewriter to type the names of my gift recipients on Typeset washi strips.


As you can see in the recipe below, this popcorn isn’t short on greasy ingredients. I love that the Oh Goodie glassine paper is so grease-resistant! You can’t see any spots, which keeps the bags pretty for gift-giving.




Caramel Apple Popcorn (source: cookiesandcups.com)


1 cup unpopped corn kernels
2 (2.5 oz) bags of apple chips
1 cup light brown sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
½ cup butter
1 tsp salt
1 (14 oz) can of sweetened condensed milk


Preheat oven to 250 degrees (or skip baking the popcorn and enjoy ooey-gooey).
Pop your kernels into a large bowl and pick out any unpopped kernels.
In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine butter, brown sugar, corn syrup and salt.
When mixture is melted and it begins to boil, add the sweetened condensed milk and continue stirring for five minutes (to prevent burning).
Remove from heat and pour over popcorn and apples. Stir to evenly coat.
Bake in oven for 45-50 minutes, stirring every ten minutes. (Or, like me, enjoy at this point!)
Remove from oven, break into pieces, and allow to cool.


I’d love to know what you think if you give this recipe a try, and I’d love to see your Goodie Bags, too! Enjoy creating!


Supplies Used:

Oh Goodie Scalloped Goodie Bag Guide

Oh Goodie Foil Stickers

Oh Goodie Glassine Paper

Typecast Typewriter

Typecast Washi Stickers

One thought on “Fall Gift Idea: Caramel Apple Popcorn Goodie Bags

Leave a Reply

