Guest Designer Melissa Phillips

Happy Friday We R fans! In honor of World Cardmaking Day tomorrow, we’re thrilled to welcome guest designer Melissa Phillips, cardmaking and stamping expert. Check out her beautiful projects below, and then scroll down to get to know a bit more about her.

Hello everyone!  Melissa Phillips here, and I am so excited to get to celebrate World Cardmaking day with you.  I was invited to create a couple of cards using the darling, new Urban Chic collection as well as the Frame Punch Board (what a fun tool!).

The frame for my first card was created using the Frame Punch Board.  I selected patterned paper from the Urban Chic collection and in a matter of seconds had created a frame where I nestled my focal point.


I added a few cardstock stickers such as the heart tab in the upper left corner and the tiny lips, and then stacked a few die cut shapes to finish.


The Woodland Thickers are my favorite elements from this collection, so I used one of the symbols from the set to tie in with the current trends of today and to top off my tiny stack of die cuts.


I had to use the sweet donuts from the Urban Chic collection somehow on my second card.


I love spotting these trendy little items popping up in the paper-crafting world.


I simply hand-cut three donuts from the Street Vendor patterned paper sheet, added a bit of glitter to highlight the sprinkles, and then arranged them with Woodland Thickers to create my x’s and o’s.


Enjoy a creative weekend!



Melissa was born and raised in American Fork, UT. After graduating from Brigham Young University, she and her husband moved to Southern Nevada where they currently live with their little girl. After the birth of her daughter, Melissa wanted to make handmade Thank You notes to send out and became hooked immediately on card making. It all spiraled from there and has become a wonderful and rewarding part of Melissa’s life. “I love creating things for other people, and I enjoy the process of working with my hands to turn ordinary paper into something heartfelt. My loves are card making and altering anything that sparks my interest. I enjoy every minute of it and I love to share my creations with those I love.”

Social Media Links:


Favorite We R Product:

Love Notes We R Instagram Kit

Favorite Paper-crafting tip:

Stay true to your style and love what you create.  Don’t feel like you have to create like everyone else in order for your style to be special, what matters is it’s uniquely you.  What you create will be special to others and the joy you feel as you create, naturally comes through in what you create.

3 thoughts on “Guest Designer Melissa Phillips

Leave a Reply

