Inspired by Honeycomb Pads

Good morning! Laura here and today I am sharing a project that was inspired by Aly. She made the sweetest little honeycomb cupcake pop-up card. I love the idea of the pop-up card. It makes the card seem so much more festive and interactive.

diy-party_birthday-card-by-aly-dosdall-3

The honeycomb paper pads are perfect for adding dimension inside a card. After seeing the new High Five collection papers I knew right away I could make a fun adventure card that would be perfect to give to my husband.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-1

To start with I cut an A2-size card out of the double-sided patterned cardstock and scored it in the middle. I embellished the front with a circle I cut from more of the patterned arrow paper along with some stickers from the High Five Accent Sticker sheet. To add a little sparkle, I added some gold sequin stickers.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-2

Since the High Five collection is all about adventure, I knew I could re-create a hot air balloon as my pop-up for the inside of the card. Using the small yellow Sunrise Honeycomb Pad and the Honeycomb Stencil in the balloon shape I traced and cut out my hot air balloon. The template makes it easy to choose between a regular balloon and a hot air balloon shape.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-3

To attach the balloon inside the card, I used some red adhesive tape and attached the balloon in the middle of the card.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-4

My balloon needed a basket and some string, so I cut a rectangle out of brown textured cardstock. I added green and white twine to the top edges of the basket. I also secured the twine underneath the bottom edge of the hot air balloon with some adhesive.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-5

To finish off the inside of the card I added the mountain stickers, the hexagon “Adventure” sticker and some more gold sequin stickers. I love how the adventure sticker looks a little bit like a sun, and the light blue background with stars looks like the sky.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-6

 

This is the perfect card to give to my husband. We are campers and travelers and have had so many wonderful adventures together.

life-is-a-grand-adventure-card-by-laura-silva-7

Supplies:

 

High Five Collection

DIY Party Honeycomb Pads: Sunrise

Honeycomb Stencils

Sequin Stickers: Gold

Brown Textured Cardstock

Green and White Twine

 

One thought on “Inspired by Honeycomb Pads

Leave a Reply

