Inspired by Pom Poms


Hello, We R friends! Tessa Buys here with my take on something I saw – and loved! – on the We R Memory Keepers blog. I love embroidery hoops and pom poms, so when I saw this project by Amanda Coleman, I knew I wanted to give something similar a go.



I started by making a large pom pom in red, a medium pom pom in mint and a small pom pom in yellow. Before I had these handy We R Memory Keepers DIY Party Pom Pom Makers, I wrapped the yarn around my hand and always ended up with pom poms that weren’t quite fluffy or even enough. These pom pom makers were easy to use and the result was so much better!


I backed a large hoop with patterned paper from the Urban Chic collection. I love that ikat print! I also love the “girl boss” feel to the Urban Chic line. Because I wanted this hoop to hang in my crafty workspace, I chose some empowering words from another patterned paper to be the sentiment on my hoop. Like Amanda did in her project, I used foam adhesive to lift the words off the background.


To add the pom poms to the hoop, I simply applied a little puddle of hot glue to the patterned paper where the pom pom would go, then pressed the pom pom into the glue. Once set, I re-fluffed the yarn. I also glued some handmade felt flowers between the pom poms.


As one final detail, I put gold foil washi tape around the outside of my hoop. I love how it matches my gold American Crafts scissors as they both hang on my peg board.


Thanks to Amanda for the inspiration for this project! I’m itching to make a few more. If you’re looking for a cute and fast way to dress up your walls, give this pom pom hoop a try! The We R Memory Keepers pom pom makers are so easy to use, you’ll have a great wall hanging in no time. Happy creating!



Supplies Used:

DIY Party Pom Pom Makers
Urban Chic Collection

2 thoughts on “Inspired by Pom Poms

Leave a Reply

