High Five DIY Game

Hello again We R fans! I’m so glad you could join me today, as I share a boredom-busting idea the whole family can enjoy. My kiddos loved playing my little ‘Adventure Time’ game, which I created for them during the recent school holidays using the awesome High Five collection.

adventure-time_1

The gameplay is based on an existing game my daughter already has, but it’s so girly, I thought a more gender neutral approach would entice my son to join in the fun too. Let’s see how it all came together…

adventure-time_2

The base is a simple 12×12 sheet of Cinch chipboard. I have run some light blue tape along the edges and then mounted a sheet of High Five ‘Brave’ over the top. I covered the underside of my board with some plain black cardstock to give it a finished look.

For my title, I used the word ‘adventure’ from a pack of Wildflower Gold Foil Stickers. I will admit that I have been admiring these stickers for quite some time, hoarding them for a special project. The size and wording of this sticker however, was too perfect not to use this time though! I’ve paired it wish some High Five chipboard alphas. I really like the distressed look of these. TIP: For longevity, it’s always a good idea to apply extra adhesive to chipboard stickers to ensure they don’t fall off over time.

adventure-time_3

The concept of the game is very simple: spin the spinner then move ahead the number of circles as shown on the spinner. If you land on a silver circle, you stay put. If you land on a whale, you choose a disc and potentially move forward. Land on a cheeky raccoon and you move backwards.

adventure-time_4

Here’s a closer look at my spinner…

I put it together as shown below. I cut a circle out of a sheet of Cinch Chipboard then covered it with pattern paper and embellished it with some stamping, stickers and mist, before finally roughing it up a bit with some sandpaper.

adventure-time_5

The discs (which partially determine your fate in the game) coordinate with the player’s counters.

adventure-time_6

These started off as some pre-cut chipboard shapes I had in my stash, which I have covered with some patterned paper from my High Five 6×6 pad. (Nine counters fit on one sheet of paper.) I then cut these out carefully by hand. (If I had a larger circle punch it would’ve saved a bit of time.)

adventure-time_7

adventure-time_8

The counters are High Five Plastic Buttons which, have had their double sided tape removed. I’ve chosen some phrases that coordinate with phrases found on a sheet of aptly named High Five ‘Flair’ so I could create the tokens. During game play, if you pick up a token that matches your counter, you move forward two places. The Flair patterned paper was perfect as it has a few repeats in the design, which allowed me to create more than one token with the same phrase on it.

adventure-time_9

Some DIY Party Silver Foil Stickers mark out the route to adventure!

adventure-time_10

You might come across this cheeky fellow…

adventure-time_11

… or have to cross the treacherous mountain pass.

adventure-time_12

However you choose to play, one thing’s for sure and that is that you will have fun! A bit of imagination and a few dollars and you’ve got yourself a great activity to do with the kids or even a unique gift for someone.

adventure-time_13

Happy playtime!

Chantalle

 

Supplies:

Cinch Chipboard Sheets

High Five 12×12 ‘Brave’

High Five 12×12 ‘Explore’

High Five 12×12 ‘Flair’

High Five 12×12 ‘Vintage’

High Five 6×6 Pad

High Five Accent Stickers

High Five Puffy Stickers

High Five Plastic Buttons

High Five Ephemera

High Five Chipboard Alphabet

Wildflower Gold Foil Stickers

DIY Party Silver Foiled Stickers

Crop-a-dile Power Punch

2 thoughts on “High Five DIY Game

  1. Pingback: Welcome Back Chantalle! | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

