DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand

Hello We R fans! Kimberly here with a confession. I have a thing for cake stands. It’s bad. I have many of them. Many, many cake stands. Once I saw the cool things you could create with the DIY Party Board, my mind instantly thought, hey, maybe I could make a cake stand with it!

DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

These easy and adorable cupcake stands were a snap to create. No, really!

DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

Take a closer look at the DIY Party Board. It has the guide labels and placements for each project on the board!

cupcake-stands-with-diy-party-board-3

There are three moveable guides, all clearly labeled A, B, or C. The cutting blade fits inside each one, but stores in the A guide.

cupcake-stands-with-diy-party-board-4

The instruction book, included with the board, lists what size piece of paper you need for each project. To create my taller cupcake stand, I used the dimensions for the 9-ounce cup cover. I placed my Pink Paislee Moonstruck patterned paper in the corner, as shown.

cupcake-stands-with-diy-party-board-5

Then I placed my guide. The guides and the board are labeled for easy movement. And I love the pegs that hold the guides in place. There was never any slipping while cutting!

cupcake-stands-with-diy-party-board-6

You can see how the blade fits in the guide and cuts a perfect line. I repeated the same process for the shorter cupcake stand, using the dimensions for the 8-ounce ice cream cup cover.

cupcake-stands-with-diy-party-board-7

Once the paper was cut, I used Doubled-Sided Super Sticky Red Tape to hold the ends in place. A very strong adhesive is needed to keep the two sides together when being used as a base like this. The two ends of the cut patterned paper line up perfectly along the top and bottom, when they are the correct dimensions. So simple.

DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

To create the tops of the cupcake stands, I traced a small plate onto thin chipboard and then on Pink Paislee Moonstruck Chalkboard Floral patterned paper. The chipboard I used came from a cereal box. It added extra stability to the top, to support the cupcake.

Around the narrower end of the cup shapes, a line of glue from the Mini Cordless Hot Glue Gun was added. Then I placed the cup, or now the base, onto the underside of the top. By doing this “upside down,” it allows the base to settle into the top, and to be much more accurate when attempting to get the base in the center.

DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

DIY Party Fringe Tape was adhered around the outside edge of the cupcake stand top. Sequin Stickers were also added. Pink Paislee Moonstruck Ephemera was used to create the butterfly cupcake picks. And, because the DIY Party Board also creates cupcake wraps, I had to wrap these in more patterned paper from the Pink Paislee Moonstruck collection.

DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

What celebration will you create cupcake stands for?

Supplies:

We R Memory Keepers DIY Party Board
Sequin Stickers
DIY Party Fringe Tape; Blossom
Pink Paislee: Moonstruck

Sticky Thumb Mini Cordless Hot Glue Gun
Sticky Thumb Double-Sided Super Sticky Red Tape

One thought on “DIY Party Board Cupcake Stand

  1. Brilliant idea!
    I have a thing for cake stands too, but I feel guilty about buying them. Really….how many does a girl need?
    I happen to own the DIY Party Board, so now I can make as many as I want!
    Thank you so much for the inspiration. I love, love, love this idea!

Leave a Reply

