Baby Shower Gift Idea

Hello it’s Chantalle with you today. I am very excited for not one, but two friends who are due to give birth in the next few months. These two women also happen to be sisters! One sister is keeping it a surprise, while the other sister has found out she will be having a little boy – Yay! For this sister, I have created a little keepsake album and card, ready for the big day, using my Frame Punch Board.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

An interactive card accompanies a beautiful handmade scented eye pillow

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

… along with a teensy birth record album she can use to jot down those all-important details and measurements!

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

Both of these projects were completed with the help of my Frame Punch Board. This is such a versatile tool – allowing you to create any size frame in a snap!

My little album is 3×4” size, so for my front and back covers, I’ve used a 3×4” piece of paper, cut from a sheet of Pink Paislee ‘Arrow Avenue’. I wanted the top half of the frame to have a thinner frame edge and the bottom part to be a bit thicker (like a polaroid frame) so I punched the top two guides using the alignment bars at 0.25 and then adjusted them to 0.75 for the bottom two guides. NOTE: Adjust the corresponding cut alignment bars to accommodate for the width of the frame edge.

Here is a short video I made a while ago showing the tool.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I adhered this frame onto the front of my album, along with some very cute embellishments from Crate’s ‘Little You’ collection.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

The album is simply a 4×6 Waterfall Fuse Sleeve which I have sealed in the middle with my Fuse Tool to create two 3×4 pockets. TIP: If you use your Fuse regularly, I highly recommend adding a Fuse mat to your stash. I find it much nicer to use than on a regular cutting mat surface.

new-mum_6

The album opens to reveal a section where the new Mum can record her precious baby’s newborn details. (Being in a sleeve also makes it a bit more robust for the trip to the delivery room!)

 

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I fed this little 3×4” card straight into my Typecast Typewriter so I could type the headings directly onto it.

new-mum_8

That little chipboard nappy pin is a fave! I wish I had added a few more bits from this collection to my stash actually – both the boy and girl versions are just adorable. I also really like how the typed font co-ordinates perfectly. TIP: Grab a matching colour Typecast ribbon so your projects coordinate even more beautifully!

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

For the back cover of this little mini, I have started out the same way as the previous frame, but instead of punching four guides, I have only punched two, with the alignment bar on position ‘1’. I then trimmed the section between the punched guides and folded the area down, adhering this section on the underside with runner tape.

new-mum_10

Inside this space, I’ve placed an adorable little chipboard cloud sticker with a few other little details like enamel dots and machine stitching. I love that peekaboo effect!

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

For Mum, I have a pull-out card inside a sleeve which works on the same principle as before.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

The card is a 4×6 journalling element from the Confetti collection by Crate Paper, which I have folded in half.

 

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

On the inside, I have attached a tag shape die cut with my Staple Board, another frame (which I created with the Frame Punch Board) and some other little details. ‘Twinkle Twinkle’ was typed up onto some little Typecast tags.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

new-mum_15

The card slides into it’s own decorative sleeve. This was created exactly the same as the back of the mini album above. I punched two guides instead of four and folded the bit inside before adhering. You can sew two pieces of 3×4’ card together to make the sleeve, or, as I have done here, make the piece of paper double the length and then simply fold in half before sewing. I prefer to sew sleeves shut if I can, as sometimes items inside get caught on sticky surfaces if the edges are sealed with double sided tape.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

As ever, these ideas could be tailored to suit a number of occasions.

Baby Shower Gift Idea by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

Thank you for joining me today. Happy creating!

Chantalle

 

Supplies:

Frame Punch Board
Fuse Tool
Fuse mat
4×6 Waterfall Fuse Sleeves
Staple Board
Pink Paislee Cedar Lane ‘Arrow Avenue’
Pink Paislee ‘Take me Away’ Ephemera
Staple Board
Sticky Thumb Runner Tape
Crate Paper Little You Journalling Elements
Crate Paper Little You Mixed Embellishments
Crate Paper Little You Chipboard Stickers
Crate Paper Confetti ‘Party’
Crate Paper Snow and Cocoa ‘Sweater’
Crate Paper Snow and Cocoa ‘Cozy
Typecast Tags
Typecast Typewriter
Typecast Teal/Black Ribbon

5 thoughts on “Baby Shower Gift Idea

  1. Pingback: Baby Project Roundup | We R Memory Keepers Blog

Leave a Reply

