Dry Embossing on a Scrapbook Layout

Hello, We R readers, Laura here with a simple scrapbook layout for you today. I don’t know about the rest of you, but I save all my paper scraps. I have gotten better about not saving the teeny tiny pieces, but anything over two inches is fair game. I love to be able to use up those scraps on projects. Plain cardstock scraps are not always the first thing to come to mind for a scrapbook layout, but after today, maybe they will be!

Embossed Scrapbook Layout by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

I started by cutting three inch squares from solid colored textured cardstock using my paper trimmer. I cut one of each – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, and purple. Using rainbow colors instantly pulls together any layout.

embossed-scrapbook-layout-by-laura-silva-2

After I cut out each of the squares, I ran them through the Evolution Advanced using a different Next Level embossing folder for each one. Embossing is such an easy way to “dress up” solid cardstock on a layout.

embossed-scrapbook-layout-by-laura-silva-3

I used smaller scraps to cut out little flower shapes using one of the small dies that came with the Evolution Advanced. Using the magnetic mat ensures that your pieces won’t slide around while you are cutting them out.

embossed-scrapbook-layout-by-laura-silva-4

I hadn’t had a chance to try out the new Laser Square yet, and this was the perfect project for it. I wanted to make a grid with the squares on one side of the paper. The laser lines helped me to line everything up perfectly.

embossed-scrapbook-layout-by-laura-silva-5

I added one of my favorite pictures of my husband and me at the lake from over the summer. I used a black and white picture since the layout was already so colorful. The background paper is a pearl white cardstock. The pearl sheen helps to brighten up the layout.

I used the little die cuts above and below my photo. I added a little gem to each one to make them look more like little flowers.

Embossed Scrapbook Layout by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

Lastly, I added a “you make me smile” sticker and some gold Thickers to spell out “Oh! Happy Day”.

Embossed Scrapbook Layout by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

Using the supplies you have on hand, but figuring out a way to fancy them up a bit, is a win win in my book. And I adore anything with a rainbow pattern. This page will be a great, bright, happy memory of the fun we had over the summer.

Embossed Scrapbook Layout by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

Embossed Scrapbook Layout by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

Supplies:

Textured Cardstock
Evolution Advanced
Next Level Embossing Folders
Crush Accent Stickers
Crush Thickers
Gilded Thickers
Laser Square, optional

5 thoughts on “Dry Embossing on a Scrapbook Layout

  1. The only thing I would add is a bit of journaling for date place and why it was a happy day. And I really want a laser square…I can’t line anything up

Leave a Reply

