Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile

Hello We R fans! Kimberly here today using a tool that was one of the first tools in my paper crafting stash; the Crop-A-Dile! That fantastic hole punch and eyelet setting tool. The one that can punch through just about any material. Heavy duty and beloved in my work space. When you think of the Crop-A-Dile, gift wrap isn’t the first thing that comes to mind. But, this wonderful tool helps make gift wrapping a breeze! It helps add a finishing touch to a specially wrapped gift.

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

I began by creating three gift bags using Glassine Papers and the Scalloped Goodie Bag Guide. The paper is food safe, making this perfect for cookies, brownies, or my favorite–homemade caramel popcorn. These small bags also could hold gift cards, earrings, necklaces, and more!

gift-bags-2

After adding a few papers from the Hazelwood Collection to my bags, I folded a small paper doily over the top. Using my Crop-A-Dile, I punched two small holes side-by-side. About ¾” apart from each other. The Crop-A-Dile has two different sizes for holes.

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

Due to my smaller width ribbon, I chose the smaller. The Crop-A-Dile punched through all the layers easily. The other great feature of this tool is the small “teeth” that can be seen on the side of the tool. Those teeth help you line up each punch in the same spot. Simply count the teeth on the first punch placement and repeat.

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

On these first two bags, I pushed the ribbon through the holes from the back to the front. One end of the ribbon in each hole. I pulled the ribbon through, made both sides even, and tied a bow.

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

 

I never learned to tie my shoes “properly,” which is a story for another time. However, it has served me well when it comes to tying bows in paper crafting. After tying the start of a square knot, I create two loops. I then cross the loops, tucking one underneath the other. By doing this, both ends of the bow can easily be adjusted for loop size!
gift-bags-6

For this bag, I closed it with ribbon again, but used a different technique. This time, the ribbon was fed through the front of the bag. One end of the ribbon through each opening. Then, crossing the ribbon in the back, the ends were fed back through to the front.

gift-bags-7

After pulling each end of the ribbon tight, it creates this closure. I love the look with the checked ribbon!

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

Each of the bags was decorated with more papers and fussy-cut images from the Hazelwood Collection. Oh, how I am infatuated with those butterflies!

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

Who knew that a versatile tool like the Crop-A-Dile could create such beautiful gift bags?!

DIY Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile by Kimberly Crawford

How would you wrap a gift with the Crop-A-Dile?

 

Supplies:

We R Memory Keepers

American Crafts, 1 canoe 2

5 thoughts on “Gift Bags with the Crop-A-Dile

  1. The crooadile is still my favourite tool! I love how you did the second ribbon. I’m going to try that next time I do a gift bag – thanks

  2. Love your Gift Bags they are all so beautiful.. Great idea using the Crop-A-Dile…I love my Crop-A-Dile I have both sizes and use them all the tiem….I also have your Goodie Bag die and kit…awesome product too!! It’s so awesome how you always share all kinds of different clever & creative ways to use all of your Punches & products…..just keeps the WRMK inspiration flowing. YOU SO ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

