DIY Easter Decor

Hello We R Fans and welcome back to the blog today. It felt like only yesterday I was sharing some ideas for Easter decor with you! How time flies. This wonderful and blessed time of year is almost here and again, I would love to share a little section of my craft room with you which I have decorated especially for Easter.

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I have two pretty simple little shelves in my room where I like to display lots of pretties, but also keep the bits and pieces I use a lot so they are close to hand. The top of the units are a perfect place to keep favourite projects or nicknacks.

I will freely admit to having a small crush on all things ‘bunny’. My collection is growing and this year I have added this adorable mini cake stand! A simple and easy way to decorate without the long term commitment is to add some hand cut bits, like a butterfly or two, with some temporary adhesive like ‘Blu Tack’. (This is an Australian product name but after searching on the net, the equivalent sounds like ‘Plasti-Tac’ or Poster Tac.)

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

The main feature of my Easter display is a 12×12 image which I have created and displayed inside an Organization Gallery Shadow Box Frame. My ideas on how exactly it would look changed a bit during the creative process, but I wanted to create a main title with some custom lettering and I also knew I wanted to have several elements making up the whole display.

For my title, I started off by trimming the pieces of paper I would need for my word ‘EASTER”. I used my Mini Alphabet Punch Board (which takes 1.5 inch x 2.5 inch pieces) to punch out my letters. These soft florals are from the new Pebbles line, ’Simple Life’.

Once all the letters were complete, I then made swift work of lining them all up in a straight line, with my Laser Square.

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

For added interest over the pretty woodgrain print of the paper, I did some basic black stamping with this floral stamp from the new Vicki Boutin collection. This stamp set also comes with coordinating metal dies, so I cut some of the shapes out of similar paper and then used the shapes to build up layers of stickers and ephemera I started assembling.

Here is a closer look at some of the details. You might notice a touch of vellum at the bottom of the little stack. This paper is SO pretty and the touches of gold were perfect for the overall look and feel of this display piece. Other tiny details are the mini flowers I created using an Elegant Font Punch . I added a little centre to the flower shape with some white Crystal Drops.

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

And here is how the framed piece turned out!

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I’ve echoed those beautiful butterflies here and there. They have been hand-cut from a sheet of Wildflower ‘Butterfly Garden’.

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

Pops of gold shine in the opposite corner on this piece of ephemera from the Take Me Away collection by Pink Paislee. Both of these stacks include some Simple Life stickerspuffy stickers and hand cut flowers.

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

The last item incorporated into my display is this super cute 5×7 Photo Light. The acrylic frame is backlit and this one has a natural wood finish so it coordinated well with the white shelving and woodgrain papers in the frame.

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

For my photo light, I set up a document the same size in Photoshop. I then used some digital Pink Paislee Citrus Bliss elements and added some text. (note, I changed the colour of the little ‘oh so cute’ ephemera to better match the background pattern.)

I then printed my digital pic onto some Photo Light Printable Backlit Film Paper. NOTE: It’s important to print onto the more matte side as the ink will not stick to the glossier side. (Hold the paper up the light and give it a little feel to see which side feels more glossy.) It’s also worth printing a reversed copy of your image, so it is a bit more protected when it’s under the top magnetic plate.

The printed image sits on top of the light box area but underneath a protective sheet made from sturdy acrylic which has magnets in the corners to keep your image in place.

This is how fabulous it looks when it’s turned on! Note: The frame runs off 3x AA batteries or a Micro USB cable (not included).

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

Wishing you, your families and friends, a very happy time together. Until next time

Chantalle

DIY Easter Decor by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

 

Materials Used:

 

Organization Gallery Shadow Box Frame

Mini Alphabet Punch Board

Laser Square

Vicki Boutin stamp & die set

Pink Paislee Take me Away ephemera

Pebbles Simple Life ’Spring Seeds’ 12×12

Pebbles Simple Life ‘Magnolias’ 12×12

Pebbles Simple Life ‘Wildflowers’ 12×12

Pebbles Simple Life Stickers

Pebbles Simple Life Washi Tape Book

Pebbles Simple Life Puffy Stickers

Pebbles Simple Life Rose Gold Foiled Paper

Heidi Swapp ‘Happy’ Metal Die

Wildflower ‘Butterfly Garden’

5×7 Photo Light

Photo Light Printable Backlit Film Paper

Elegant Font Punch

Evolution Advanced

Evolution Magnetic Cutting Mat

One thought on “DIY Easter Decor

Leave a Reply

