Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor

Hello We R Fans! Kimberly here today with some fun décor that could be used for a baby shower, and then once the shower is over, for the baby’s room! I am long removed from the world of babies (as mine is now 11), but as I scrolled through Pinterest, hot air balloons kept popping up. I knew I had all the supplies and tools I needed to create some fantastic balloons with my We R Memory Keepers stash!

Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

First to be created was the balloons. Immediately the Honeycomb pads came to mind, along with a great balloon-shaped stencil in the DIY Party Honeycomb Stencil pack.

Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

I placed the template on the sealed edge of the Large Honeycomb Ocean Pads. I traced one large balloon and two smaller balloons.

DIY Party Honeycomb Pads and Stencils by We R Memory Keepers

I used the three different colors in the package. Be sure and slide your template all the way to the bottom of the pad, that way, you can get more shapes from your pad.

DIY Party Honeycomb Pads and Stencils by We R Memory Keepers

Once two of each balloon color and size were cut, I adhered the two similar shapes together using a strong, dry adhesive. Dry adhesive is the only way to go when adhering the thin paper of the honeycomb pads.

DIY Party Honeycomb Pads and Stencils by We R Memory Keepers

Adhesive was placed on the back of the one side. Then the two sides of the honeycomb were pinched together, creating a completely three-dimensional balloon!

Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

Once the balloons were created, banners were added for extra color and fun.

We R Memory Keepers Banner Punch Board

Using the Banner Punch Board, patterned paper was cut into small pieces. I trimmed my American Crafts Oh Happy Life paper to 1 inch strips. I lined the strips up with the center line (marked on the board), and cut with the blade. I find that cutting towards the inside from the right side and then the left side results in a cleaner cut.

The paper banners were glued to a piece of twine. The twine was cut long, allowing me to wrap it around the balloon and tie it to the correct size.

Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

The next item that needed to be created was the basket for the hot air balloon.

We R Memory Keepers 123 Punch Board

Using a piece of Bazzill Dotted Swiss card stock and the 1-2-3 Punch Board, I created small boxes. The box for the larger balloon was 2 ½” on all sides. The small box, of which I needed two, was 1 ¾” on all sides. The punch board has all the dimensions printed on it, for ease of construction. Around the top of each box, I added a piece of different white trim.

Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

To hold up each balloon, paper straws were adhered to the inside of each corner of each box. I trimmed each straw to size. The honeycomb balloons slip easily on the top of the straws to stay in place.

Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor by Kimberly Crawford for We R Memory Keepers

What color hot air balloons would you create?

Supplies:

We R Memory Keepers:

American Crafts:

Bazzill:

One thought on “Hot Air Balloon Baby Decor

Leave a Reply

