Shaker Baby Cards

Happy Friday We R friends! I hope you’ve enjoyed all the baby inspiration this week. Today I’m going to finish things off with a set of boy & girl shaker baby cards that I made with my Photo Sleeve Fuse, along with some FUSEables plastic paper and embellishments.

Shaker Baby Cards by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

 

Shaker Baby Cards by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

I started by heating up my Fuse tool for 10 minutes. It’s important to let it heat up long enough to get the best results. Then, I used some 2 inch plastic pouches to create shaker pockets, filling them with sequins, and fusing the four sides to the back of the FUSEables card windows. Then I fused the back flap of the card front closed, for a more finished look on the inside of the card.

For the girl card, I added some FUSEables plastic ephemera to the card front with my Fuse tool. No adhesive necessary with the FUSEables plastic paper and Fuse tool! And, I love the way the fused lines look like stitching.

Shaker Baby Cards by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

I added a small self-adhesive label where I had typed the word “BABY” with my Typecast typewriter. I love how easy it is to add text to my projects with the Typecast!

To make the boy card, I made the circle window into a baby rattle by cutting a handle from some FUSEables paper with my Cameo.

Shaker Baby Cards by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

For a tutorial on how to cut plastic sheets with the Cameo, CLICK HERE.

Next, I cut a ring out with my circle cutter to go around the shaker window and glued it to the card front.

I finished it off with some FUSEables ephemera, again with only my Fuse tool and no adhesive!

Shaker Baby Cards by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

Thanks for joining me today. I hope you’ve found some helpful project inspiration. Enjoy your weekend, and be sure to check back next week!

Supplies:

Photo Sleeve Fuse
Heat Resistant Mat
FUSEables card kit

4 thoughts on “Shaker Baby Cards

  1. These cards are such fun! I love my Fuse Tool, but have been a little confused about putting shakers together. I end up with a bumpy result! I wish I could see a video. I am not sure what you meant when you said “Then I fused the back flap of the card front closed”. Will keep trying because I love the look! Thanks for the inspiration.

    • Hi Maureen. The cards I made were part of a kit, and the card bases come with a flap that you fold over and fuse shut to cover the shaker pocket so that back of it doesn’t show when you open the card. It’s hard to explain, but it just makes the card look a bit neater. Here’s a YouTube video that shows the process: https://youtu.be/9ZOGn5_k3jI

Leave a Reply

