Summer Reading Log

Hello, We R Memory Keepers fans, Laura here today. School just got out for us and I want to be sure both of my kids keep up with their reading skills all summer long. Having a summer reading log will help us keep track of all of the books we read this summer. We have some house rules about reading, playing outside, chores, and learning activities the kids must complete before they are allowed to use electronics.

DIY Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

I created a printable log the kids could use each week. It has a space for the date, title of the book, and how many pages were read for each day of the week.

Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva

Get your free printable here: Summer Reading Log

I printed 10 weeks worth (front to back), so five pages total for each of my kids.

To start creating the reading log book, I started with two 8 ½ x 11 inch Cinch book boards. I covered the front and back covers with some fun, summery papers from Amy Tangerine’s On a Whim collection. I adhered the papers using double sided tape. I covered the inside covers with purple and yellow mono cardstock.

Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva

Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva

To separate each of the kid’s sections, I created tabs using teal and orange mono cardstock and the tab punch board. I labeled them with my children’s names.

Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva

Once I had everything together, I assembled the book with the Cinch tool and a small silver Cinch wire.

Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva

The Cinch Binding Tool by We R Memory Keepers

The Cinch Binding Tool by We R Memory Keepers

To make the cover a little more fun, I used some Thickers to spell out “Summer Reading Log” on some of the leftover teal and orange mono cardstock. I rounded the corners with the Corner Chomper. Then, I added stickers from the On a Whim collection.

DIY Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva for We R memory Keepers

I love the way it turned out. I know I am always more motivated to do what I need to do when I have something that looks nice and my kids are, too! This summer reading log will be the perfect way for the kids to keep track of what reading they do this summer.

DIY Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva for We R memory Keepers

DIY Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva for We R memory Keepers

DIY Summer Reading Log by Laura Silva for We R memory Keepers

Supplies:

 

Cinch Book Board

Amy Tangerine  On a Whim Collection Papers and Stickers

Double Sided Tape

Cinch Tool

Cinch Wires

Tab Punch Board

Corner Chomper

Mono Cardstock

Thickers

3 thoughts on “Summer Reading Log

  1. Skype has launched its internet-structured buyer beta towards the
    entire world, following launching it broadly within the U.S.
    and You.K. previously this month. Skype for Online also now works with Linux and
    Chromebook for instant text messaging conversation (no voice and video yet, these need a connect-in installment).

    The increase of the beta provides assistance for an extended selection of spoken languages to aid bolster that overseas usability

  2. OMG What a Spectacular idea!! I am so going to have to get me a Cinch!! Your Reading Log totally cool!
    How very clever & creative are you!! I love it!! YOU so ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

