Father’s Day Gift Idea: Photo Lights Tray

Hello Chantalle here, welcoming you to the blog.

Father’s Day is a special time to celebrate the amazing men in our lives. My DH has been an incredible support to me, especially this year, and the kids and I can’t wait to spoil him.

I’ve created two looks for a simple gift idea that you could put together with your children for Dad. It comprises of some items that you might already have in your stash, as well as some Photolights.

Whether they are an automobile enthusiast or a sports fan, I’m sure these will go down a treat!

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The first tray is both decorative and useful. Both ideas use a lightly altered canvas as a base with a Photolight attached. You can choose to adhere the light to the base or keep it free standing so Dad can take his special backlit gift with him.

You may also be lucky enough to find a canvas with a recess the same size as your Photolight. (If I had an accurate sanding device, I would’ve tried to sand down the wood a bit in order to insert the light inside the canvas recess.) Mounting the light inside the tray would make a great solid base onto which you can build. Instead, I’ve used some semi-permanent sticky dots to adhere my light to my canvas.

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

As you can see in the image below, I covered the canvas with some woodgrain print paper. I’ve used a sheet of 12×12 paper from my Typecast Paper Pad, as the weight is slightly lighter and was easier to manipulate over the canvas, which was 8 x 10 inches.

I started on the one edge, then ran the paper over the recess area, not the canvas area, before cutting out the area of the paper where it covered the recess.

The wooden section of the canvas that is still visible from the top, has been covered with some woodgrain washi tape, which I had in my stash. I now had a perfect little inexpensive tray, ready to be filled!

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The car blueprint is a laser print of a stock image, which I downloaded. The white areas work very well, lit from behind. You could use a bike or plane or a boat… the options are endless!

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

With the image in place and the magnetic acrylic plate placed over it, I went about adding a few small touches to the frame in the form of some chipboard Thickers.

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The tray now serves as a bedside storage area for Dad’s personal items as well as giving off a gentle glow when lit up!

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The next tray gives Dad official permission to put his feet up! I’ve used the same tray principle and applied it in the form of a mini hamper. Armed with a few tasty snacks and 100% access to the remote, Dad will love his time out to watch the game!

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

I measured the size I needed for my 8×8 Photolights frame and set some text over a sweet image of our kiddos. This was then printed off onto some Photolights Printable Backlit Paper.

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

NB: When using this paper, remember to print on the more matte side, as the ink will not stick to the shinier side.

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

Use batteries or the USB power source (provided), to switch the light on and show Dad just how much you love him this Father’s Day.

Father' Day Gift Tray by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

Thank you for stopping by the blog today!

Chantalle

 

Materials Used:

Photolights Natural Wood Finish 8×8 Frame

Photolights Natural Wood Finish 4×6 Frame

Photolights Printable Backlit Film
Jen Hadfield for Pebbles, Simple Life Chipboard Thickers

Amy Tangerine On a Whim chipboard Thickers

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Gift Idea: Photo Lights Tray

Leave a Reply

