Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper

Hello We R friends, and Happy Monday! It’s Aly here, and this week on the blog we’re featuring patriotic projects from our design team to inspire your 4th of July crafting. If you’ve got a barbeque, party or other patriotic event, then be sure to check back each day this week for some fabulous ideas!

Today I’m sharing a festive cake topper idea for an Independence Day party. To make this cake topper, I pulled out an oldie but goodie, the Pinwheel Punch Board.

Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers
For extra dimension, I made the pinwheels out of Bazzill Basics Plastic Embossing Sheets and embossed them with some Next Level Embossing Folders, and the Evolution Advanced.

Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

I used the Pinwheel Attachments so that the pinwheels can actually spin, adding a fun interactive element to the cake topper.

Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

To make this Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper, I started by gathering my supplies.

I trimmed two red and two blue 3×3 squares, two red and two blue 4×4 squares, and one red and one blue 5×5 square. I punched each corner as explained in the instructions, and then cut all the red squares using the Pinwheel A track.

Then I punched the corners of each blue square, and cut them using the Pinwheel B track.

Then I embossed each pinwheel using some Next Level Embossing Folders and my Evolution Advanced.

I layered the red squares on top of the blue squares, interlocking the pinwheel arms, and then followed the instructions to assemble the attachment pieces. Once assembled, I added an Enamel Dot to the attachment cap for a finished look and placed a paper straw into the attachment base.

I trimmed off the ends of the paper straws at different lengths for a layered look, and inserted them into the center of the cake.

Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers

I hope this fun cake topper inspires you. Thanks for joining me today, and be sure to come back tomorrow for some more red, white, and blue project ideas!

Supplies:

Pinwheel Punch Board
Pinwheel Attachments
Enamel Dots–Warm
Evolution Advanced
Next Level Embossing Folders–Dotted, Wave
Bazzill Basics Plastic Embossing Sheets

 

 

4 thoughts on “Patriotic Pinwheel Cake Topper

Leave a Reply

