Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy

Hello and welcome, Chantalle with you today! The Winter solstice has come and gone here in the Southern Hemisphere (not that we can really complain about our winter temps in Queensland!) and I am starting to dream about balmy beach days again. I’ve created an oversized beach bag with my Stitch Happy Sewing Machine, which can accommodate all of our gear for a day at the beach, a picnic or pool party!

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I will confess, that my sewing skills are pretty much limited to most things in square form or something easy that I can check out a tutorial online. (You can find the full details of this tutorial later on in this post.)

My bag is primarily natural calico with a bright pop of colour for the lining and little pocket. I had such fun looking at all the beautiful trims in my local fabric store!

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I washed and ironed my fabric before use to prevent the fabric from warping later on. Once it was ready, I used my new Supreme Ruler to measure out two large pieces, each 22 x 40 inches. I folded the material over before I cut to make it easier. Using the fold as one side, also meant I didn’t have to sew all four sides. The Supreme Ruler was fabulous to use, as the one side has a metal edge, which was perfect for using my rotary cutter against. It also has handy measuring guides, so I knew exactly where to make my markings.

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

This bag is large and strong – It easily fitted four towels, my camera, sunblock, hats and a picnic rug. The bag’s size also seems easy to adjust, so you can make one to suit your specific needs!

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

As per the tutorial, I sewed two square shapes, one in the bright chevron and one in the calico. The bag has squared off edges, which makes it easier to stand up a bit straighter. This involves marking off sections in the bottom two corners, opening the corner and then sewing across. Finally cutting off the excess fabric.

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

The bags then fit inside each other and one sews in the handles. I’ve used natural belting which was a little over an inch wide. You can make these as long or as short as you like.

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

You’ll notice I’ve sewed in a box fashion where the handles meet the fabric. This provides extra strength when the handles are under load. Just go slow and steady with your machine and if you find using the pedal is too fast for such a specific area, I like to just wind by hand so I know each stitch is deliberate.

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

The pocket was a bit of a made up design, lol. I initially thought the pocket would have the chevron on the outside, but it turned out looking a bit too bright, so I used the calico on the outside and lined it with the chevron print, turning the front edge over slightly, so the colour was peeping out. This was then finished off with some super cute coordinating pom pom trim, which I may or may not have bought a bit extra for something else in the future!

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

I’m so impressed with how this bag turned out. I’ll definitely be using the method to create more bags like this and would love to try making a smaller one for everyday items, like groceries or my little one’s gymnastics class! It was a very do-able project and I loved creating it with my Stitch Happy!

DIY Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy sewing machine by Chantalle McDaniel for We R Memory Keepers

Thank you so much for stopping by today. I hope you will have as much fun with your Stitch Happy Sewing Machine as I have!

(The full tutorial of this bag can be found by clicking here)

Chantalle

 

Materials Used:

Stitch Happy Sewing Machine

Stitch Happy Thread White

Supreme Ruler

3 thoughts on “Beach Bag with the Stitch Happy

  1. Hi OH My Goodness Your Beach Bag is so Cute!! Great photo and Recipe shares. Another Outstanding Creative job showcasing the WRMK Stitch Happy Machine…Way to go…..YOU SO ROCK!!

Leave a Reply

