School Sports Layout

Hello and welcome, Chantalle with you today!

My DS is such a keen little athlete. For a couple of years he chased a blue ribbon in the sprints but it was just out of his reach. I remember vividly, the pride my husband and I felt when he finally made his dream a reality and won first place. His little face just beamed! He’d worked so hard for it and it meant so much to him.

He has gone on to defend his title as overall fastest in the school for three years in a row – Bringing home more blue ribbons than he could ever imagine! It’s such a joy to see him achieve his dreams, and as his primary school years draw to a close, we look forward to seeing him reach further (and faster) for new stars in high school.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

On this layout, I have used a few of his actual ribbons as embellishments. I was inspired by the blue tones, which are a perfect match to his school sports colours. I went with various shades of blue, keeping the palette minimal, as there are quite a few different elements together on this page.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The background pattern has been created using some royal blue foil and my Heatwave Tool.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

I selected several sheets of blue foil from the pack of Heatwave mixed colours. I think in total for a length of 12 inches down, I used 4 sheets of foil, underneath a Heatwave ‘Sans Serif’ stencil. TIP: For best results in the Heatwave pen, I would recommend new (or fully recharged) batteries.

Once I had completed my foiling, I added a little splash of some Navy Heidi Swapp Color Shine here and there.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The ribbons have been pinned directly onto the cardstock or photos – no need for double sided tape!

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The title is very simple, just emphasizing the win!

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

I created the number 1 with my Alphabet Punch Board and the letters ‘S’ and T’ with my Mini Alphabet Punch Board. It’s great fun combining letters and numbers from both size boards to add a bit of playfulness to your projects. I’ve chosen to use a gold foil finish for the title, to match the printing on the ribbons.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

Further little embellishments are these cute cameras, hand cut from a sheet of Amy Tangerine On a Whim 12×12 Super Shot. I used my Crop a Dile to pop a quick hole into them and then set a silver eyelet into the hole.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

The eyelet gives the impression that there is a lens on the camera, which I think is pretty cute.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

A few other elements used on this page are some clear stickers with gold foil detail from a pack of Amy Tangerine On a Whim Sticker Book, some Heidi Swapp Chipboard stars as well as some Heidi Swapp acrylic stars (both of which I have been hoarding in my stash for a few years!)

I also used my Typecast Typewriter to add a date to the page. I love how quick and easy it is to use my typewriter to add personalized phrases, dates or journaling to my projects, which I have attached to the back of the layout.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

I love how this layout captures not only a wonderful milestone but also shows off some of hard earned ribbons! Much better than put away in a cupboard somewhere.

School Sports Layout by Chantalle McDaniels for We R Memory Keepers

I hope this idea inspires you to use some of the school items you might have tucked away on your next project.

Thank you for stopping by the blog today!

Chantalle

 

Materials Used:

Mini Alphabet Punch Board

Alphabet Punch Board

3.5” Metallic Pad

Heatwave Tool

Heatwave Foil Pack

Heatwave Stencil Sans Serif

Heidi Swapp Acrylic Stars

Heidi Swapp Chipboard Stars

Honey I’m Home Accent Stickers

Crop a Dile

Typecast Typewriter

Typecast Stickers

Amy Tangerine On a Whim Sticker Book

Amy Tangerine On a Whim 12×12 Super Shot

Bazzill cardstock Black

Bazzill Cardstock Classic Blue

3 thoughts on “School Sports Layout

  1. Pingback: School Sports Layout - YourPictureFrames.com Blog

  2. I love your blog and your products and review it every day in my blog reader, however, I CANNOT READ the pale blue text. I understand that pale blue is your “color” but it is completely unreadable for my 57 year old eyes. Even the other text is more gray then black 😦 Been meaning to tell you this for some time . . .

Leave a Reply

