Garland Punch Mobile

Hello and welcome to Punch Week here on the blog. This week we’re focusing on our fabulous punches (as opposed to punch boards), and our designers will be sharing projects they’ve made with these crafter’s staples. Let’s get things started with a darling mobile made with the Garland Punch by Laura Silva.

 

Hey there, We R readers, Laura here! One thing I love about We R tools is that they are so versatile. You can use each one for so many different projects. Today, I am sharing how to create this hanging mobile using the DIY Party garland punch. Instead of making the traditional garland for party decor, I used the punch to create a pretty paper rainbow mobile.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

To start with you will need a rainbow assortment of cardstock. I love the DIY party pad colors. I used 10 solid colors and one gold sheet. I suggest using double-sided cardstock for this project. The gold has white on the back, but the rest of the cardstock is the same on both sides.You will also need the circle garland punch and a wooden embroidery hoop.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

I used the punch to cut out twelve circles of each color.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

As you create your strand, loop one with the “hook” part facing up, and then on the next one, do the “hook” facing down. This way when the garland hangs, it will look 3D rather than flat.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

I wanted there to be a little variety in the mobile as it turned around, so for each of the strands, I used one circle of each of the colors. Then, I would choose one color and use two circles for that strand of that particular color. This is why I cut out 12 of each of the eleven colors.

I laid them out as I went to be sure I could keep track of what I was doing. Plus, this also allowed me to vary which strand I used as I added them to the embroidery hoop.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

Using strong, clear fishing line, I tied a knot at the top of each garland strand. I used a little dab of superglue on the knots to be sure they didn’t come apart.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

I cut each fishing line strand 8 inches long and attached them to the inner hoop of the embroidery hoop. Again, I tied a knot around the hoop and used a little super glue to keep the knot in tact. After the glue dried, I trimmed off all the excess fishing line.

On the outside hoop, I used three two-foot lengths of white and gold twine. I looped each one around the hoop, and then gathered all the strands at the top and tied a knot. Evenly space out the twine until the hoop lies flat.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

Attach the inner hoop inside the outer hoop and tighten.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

I love how this turned out. You could really do any color combination. It looks beautiful spinning around.

Circle Garland Mobile by Laura Silva for We R Memory Keepers

 

Supplies:

DIY Party Garland Punch
DIY Party 12 x 12 Cardstock Pad
Embroidery Hoop
Fishing Line
Twine

Leave a Reply

