Throwback Thursday: DIY Matchbook Mini Album for Halloween

For today’s Throwback Thursday, we’re sharing one of our most popular Halloween projects from 2015. Read below to learn how to make your own Halloween Matchbook Mini Album.

 

Hey there crafty friends! It’s Aly here again to share a fun and easy DIY Halloween Mini Album with you using some of my favorite new We R tools, along with some old stand-bys. We’ve created a tradition at our house of trying on our Halloween costumes a few days before the big day to see how they look, and so I get a chance to take some good photos in full light and under ideal circumstances. This has been such a stress reliever! Now I can enjoy the festivities on Halloween night just as much as everyone else without worrying about getting the perfect photos before it’s all over.

I just took some photos of my youngest daughter all dressed up as Mavis from Hotel Transylvania, and decided to make a simple matchbook mini album to display them using the Template Studio and some black glitter Designer Poster Board as my base.

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers #templatestudio #halloweencrafts #minialbum

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall for We R Memory Keepers #templatestudio #halloweencrafts #cropadile

To create this 3×4 inch album I cut a 3″ x 9″ strip from a piece of black glitter Designer Poster Board using the Template Studio. Poster board makes a great mini album base since it’s sturdier than cardstock, but not quite as stiff as some chipboard can be.

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall 3

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall 4

Then I used my Trim and Score Board to score lines at 3 5/8″, 3 3/4″, 7 3/4″ and 7 7/8″. You can trim a bit of extra off the left end if you’d like to leave more room to see your photos once the album’s assembled.

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall 5

To create the inside pages for the album, I trimmed five pieces of black glitter Designer Poster Board to 2 7/8″ x 3 7/8″ so they’re slightly smaller than the cover. Next, I rounded the corners of my cover and inside pages with my 1/4″ Corner Chomper, and then punched 1/8″ holes in the bottom of the inside pages, and in the bottom front flap of the cover with my Crop-A-Dile.

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall 6

I added my 2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″ photos to the inside pages using adhesive dots. They stick well to the glitter on the poster board. ( I added my photos after punching the holes, but I recommend adding them before you punch the holes so you don’t have to punch twice.) I used some Dear Lizzy roller stamps to add journaling, and then die cut the stamped phrases to create labels for each photo. Then I added a few gold Sequin Stickers to finish off my album pages.

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall 7

I place brads into the holes of the bottom front flap, and then into the holes of the inside pages to bind the album. Since the brads don’t go through the back of the album, the prongs are hidden, keeping the album neat and tidy. Finally, I embellished the front of the album with some shapes that I die cut with my Evolution Advanced from some of the new DIY Party Double Sided Paper Pad. I added a few black Sequin Stickers, and stamped the date as my title with a Heidi Swapp roller stamp.

DIY Halloween Matchbook Mini Album by Aly Dosdall 8

This little matchbook mini is easy to make and oh-so-fun! It perfect for showcasing Halloween, birthday, or holiday photos. It would make a great gift album as well.

Supplies:

Decorative Poster Board (black glitter)
Template Studio Starter Kit
Trim and Score Board
Corner Chomper
Crop-A-Dile
Evolution Advanced
Bat and Moon Punch Die
Albums Made Easy Dies–Instagram, Banners
Sequin Stickers–Black, Gold
Roller Stamps–Dear Lizzy, Heidi Swapp
Sticky Thumb Adhesive
black ink pad
brads
foam squares

3 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday: DIY Matchbook Mini Album for Halloween

  1. Pingback: Altenew October 2017 Release Blog Hop + Giveaway | Kreative Kymona

Leave a Reply

